Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Sergio Perez leads a 1-2 finish for Campos
A happy Sergio Perez
The 2008 GP2 Series Champions concluded a brilliant weekend tonight in Qatar with both of their drivers finishing first and second of the sprint race at the Losail International Circuit. Starting from seventh and eighth, Sergio Perez and Vitaly Petrov launched perfectly at the start and were already leading the race entering the first corner, the Russian ahead of the Mexican. But a couple of laps later, Perez overtook his teammate at the end of the main straight and managed to keep a 2 second gap all through the rest of the race. He crossed the finished line to claim his second win in his fourth GP2 Asia weekend ever.

Behind them, yesterday’s winner Nico Hülkenberg, also made an impressive start, from eighth to fourth and was soon all over Arden’s Edoardo Mortara. And while the two Campos cars pulled away extending their lead to almost 10 seconds, the ART ace struggled on a slippery track to pass Mortara, but eventually succeed on Lap 15 before Turn 1. Hülkenberg then tried to catch up with the leaders who were ultimately too far away to reach before the checkered flag.

Sergio Perez (MEX) and Vitaly Petrov (RUS)
In fourth place, Edoardo Mortara crossed the finished line before Durango’s Davide Valsecchi. The rookie had started from an all Arden front row on the reversed grid, but neither him, nor his teammate Luiz Razia managed to keep that advantage. The poleman Razia came out fifth after the start and was then passed by Valsecchi on Lap 6.

With Kamui Kobayashi finishing 18th after he had to struggle with the tires almost all through the race, and thus failing to score any points, Davide Valsecchi is now 10 points behind the championship leader. Nico Hülkenberg stands in third with Sergio Perez now fourth and just two points behind. The GP2 Asia Series 08-09 remains wide opened.

Qatar – Sprint Race

Pos Driver Team
1. Sergio Perez Barwa int. Campos Team
2. Vitaly Petrov Barwa Int. Campos Team
3. Nico Hülkenberg ART Grand Prix
4. Edoardo Mortara Ardent Int. Motorsport
5. Davide Valsecchi Durango 
6. Luiz Razia ArdenInt. Motorsport
7 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Dams
8. Giedo van der Garde GFH Team iSport
9. James Jakes Super Nova Racing
10. Javier Villa Super Nova Racing
11. Marco Bonanomi My Qi-Meritus.Mahara
12. Diego Nunes Piquet GP
13. Giacomo Ricci DPR
14. Sakon Yamamoto ART Grand Prix
15. Davide Rigon Trident Racing
16. Alvaro Parente My Qi-Meritus.Mahara
17. Roldan Rodriguez Piquet GP
18. Kamui Kobayashi Dams
19. Rodolfo Gonzalez Fisichella Motor Sport Int.
20. Frankie Provenzano Trident Racing
21. Fabrizio Crestani Ocean Racing Technology
22. Michael Dalle Stelle Durango 
23. Kevin Nai Chia Chen Fisichella Motor Sport Int.
Not Classified
Driver Team
Michael Herck DPR
Hamad Al Fardan GFH Team iSport
Fastest lap time: Sergio Perez (Barwa International Campos Team): 1:39.527 on lap 22

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review