Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Netherlands shows its hand
Jeroen Bleekemolen
A1 Team Netherlands became the team to beat going into qualifying, as lap times tumbled in final practice for Go-GP.org A1GP Gauteng, South Africa.

The times fell dramatically from yesterday as teams experimented with their one practice use of the PowerBoost lap they will get to use in qualifying this afternoon.

The functionality of the new A1GP Powered by Ferrari car allows for the PowerBoost button to be available for an entire lap of qualifying, and teams will be allowed to use it for one of their four flying laps. The PowerBoost button gives an extra 60bhp on application, so the ability to use it throughout a lap is likely to make a significant difference to the car’s capability.

Bleekemolen's lap of 1 minute 28.128 seconds was the quickest lap of the weekend so far, with the Dutchman no doubt helped by the fact that he is the only driver to have previously raced at the 2.65-mile Kyalami circuit before.

Marco Andretti
The USA’s Marco Andretti was second, 0.290 seconds behind the Netherlands, with Daniel Morad third for the Lebanon, having been one of the form teams all weekend.

Portugal was fourth quickest ahead of France’s Nicolas Prost, on a track where his father Alain won the 1993 South African Grand Prix.

The session was interrupted early on after a high-speed crash to Ho-Pin Tung’s Chinese car, which ran wide at Turn 3 before going headfirst into the outer tire barrier. Tung was uninjured in the smash, although the Chinese A1GP Powered by Ferrari car sustained significant damage and was not able to get out on track for the rest of the session.



A1 Team Driver Time Gap Laps
1 Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen   1'28.128 0.000 15
2 USA Marco Andretti   1'28.418   0.290 20
3 Lebanon Daniel Morad   1'28.515   0.387 9
4 Portugal Filipe Albuquerque   1'28.618   0.490 22
5 France Nicolas Prost   1'28.702   0.574 20
6 Monaco Clivio Piccione   1'28.754   0.626 17
7 Switzerland Neel Jani   1'29.014   0.886 16
8 Ireland Adam Carroll   1'29.083   0.955 15
9 Brazil Felipe Guimarães   1'29.251   1.123 21
10 Australia John Martin   1'29.295   1.167 18
11 New Zealand Earl Bamber   1'29.381   1.253 16
12 South Africa Adrian Zaugg   1'29.475   1.347 17
13 Mexico Salvador Durán   1'29.543   1.415 21
14 India Narain Karthikeyan   1'29.813   1.685 15
15 Germany Michael Ammermüller   1'29.980   1.852 18
16 China Ho-Pin Tung   1'29.994   1.866 3
17 Italy Edoardo Piscopo   1'30.031   1.903 14
18 Great Britain Danny Watts   1'30.250   2.122 12
19 Indonesia Zahir Ali - 0
20 Malaysia Fairuz Fauzy - 0

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review