Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Rocketsports announces 2-car entry in Trans-Am
Rocketsports Racing, defending Trans-Am Series Champions, is pleased to announce their return to the Muscle Milk SCCA Trans-Am Series in 2009 with a two-car assault and a combination veteran/rookie driver line up. It has been a two-year hiatus since RSR’s own Paul Gentilozzi was crowned as the Trans-Am Champion, as the series will return this year with a planned eight-race schedule for the series which held its first race in 1966.

Trans-Am veteran Tomy Drissi will run the #5 X-Men Origins: Wolverine Jaguar XKR. He has driven a Rocketsports-built Jaguar XKR since 2000, which drove him to his first Trans-Am victory (Long Beach, 2000) and Trans-Am’s Most Improved Driver honors in 2000. In 77 Trans-Am starts from 1999 – 2006, Drissi has earned 40 top-ten finishes, 16 top-fives, 10 podiums, one pole and a win. The Hollywood, California native has been a part of RSR’s Trans-Am Series squad since 2002.

“It is going to be so great to get back into my Trans-Am car and go racing in the series that I love”, said Drissi. “I am excited to be a part of the Muscle Milk SCCA Trans-Am Series return in 2009. I have driven a lot of different cars, but the Trans-Am cars are the greatest and most exciting. Any driver that has ever experienced them knows exactly what I am talking about. They are truly wonderful machines.

I am also very excited to return to the Rocketsports Racing team. They are such an accomplished team with a rich Trans-Am history. To be a part of this team is an honor and we have been together for several years. Most of the guys that worked on my car from 2002 - 2006 are still around, so I look forward to reuniting with them as they are a great group of people to work with. It should be a very exciting season and I can’t wait for the first green flag to drop this weekend.”

Driving RSR’s second entry, the #18 Trinrico Steel and Wire Products Jaguar XKR, will be Daniel Ramoutarsingh, whose goal in 2009 is to successfully participate and contribute to the Trans-Am Series, under the Trinidad and Tobago national flag. He is looking forward to competing on some of the greatest road courses in the Unites States. He will be doing so as a rookie entry for RSR driving the four-time Trans-Am Championship winning Jaguar XKR, which also won the 2002 24 Hours of Daytona. This most successful Jaguar ever built by Rocketsports was formerly piloted by champions such as Paul Gentilozzi, Tommy Kendall, and Scott Pruett.

“It is a tremendous opportunity for me to participate in the Muscle Milk SCCA Trans-Am Series this year,” Ramoutarsingh said. “The Trans-Am Series has always been my favorite race series, and I consider it an honor to be a part of its return. I look forward to sharing and assisting in the series’ return to its former glory. I am also excited to have a series veteran like Tomy Drissi as my teammate.”

Ramoutarsingh continued, “I am very fortunate to be participating with Rocketsports Racing, and driving their winningest Jaguar of all time. I am well aware of the pressure and expectations as a rookie driver entering such a beloved series with one of the best teams and race cars there is, and I look forward to developing my program to the levels expected of me. I could not hope to be in better hands, and I just love it when a plan comes together.”

RSR’s Trans-Am history dates back to 1987. In 525 events entered, RSR completed 22,981 out of 26,322 laps possible (87.2% completion average). Since its first victory at the famed Long Beach Grand Prix in 1988 through 2006, the team has earned 61 total series wins. RSR has recorded 139 podiums, 198 top-fives, 328 top-ten finishes, and qualified on the pole 58 times. Manufacturer’s Championship titles have been awarded to Chevrolet (1), Ford (1), and Jaguar (5) through their affiliation with Rocketsports Racing. In addition, seven Drivers’ Championship titles have gone to RSR drivers (Paul Gentilozzi – 1998, 1999, 2001, 2004, 2006; Scott Pruett, 2003; Klaus Graf, 2005).

“We are pleased to be back in the Trans-Am Series as a competitor,” said RSR team owner and five-time Trans-Am Champion Paul Gentilozzi. “Although other commitments won’t allow me to drive this season, we look forward to putting Tomy and Daniel into the competition with Rocketsports Racing and to victory circle.”
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review