Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Kobayashi on pole in Bahrain GP2
After achieving a first pole position in Malaysia three weeks ago, Dam’s Jérôme d’Ambrosio posted another quickest laptime in today’s last qualifying session of the 08-09 GP2 Asia Series Championship.

However, following a black flag received in Sepang’s sprint race the Belgian will drop ten places on tomorrow’s feature race grid. It will be his teammate and Championship leader, Kamui Kobayashi, who will hence start on pole position, pocketing the two bonus points in the process and taking him even closer to the title.

Shanghai’s feature race winner Roldan Rodriguez and Sepang’s feature race winner Diego Nunes at Piquet confirmed their morning’s good form and will start tomorrow’s race respectively from second and third place.

ART’s Pastor Maldonado posted a laptime good enough to put him fifth quickest of the session with just five minutes left on the clock. But the man rounding up the Top 10 could have featured higher in the hierarchy had he had not been slightly blocked by Maldonado in his flying lap. Sadly for him, Qi-Meritus’ Alvaro Parente will have to be satisfied with a tenth best laptime for today. On the other hand, the experienced Venezuelan received a five position grid penalty.

At Arden’s, rookie Luiz Razia once again displayed a good pace, posting the sixth best laptime, ahead of another rookie Giedo van der Garde at GFH Team iSport. Davide Valsecchi may have lost the opportunity to keep the title fight alive past the feature race as he could only set the eighth best performance barely edging out Javier Villa.

Only two laps completed during this morning’s practice and a wrong choice of set up in this afternoon’s qualifying session will see title contender Vitaly Petrov start from 20th tomorrow. Kobayashi’s road to the GP2 Asia crown seems wide opened.

Tomorrow’s feature race will start at 15.50, local time.

Bahrain – Qualifying

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Jérôme d’Ambrosio Dams 1:43.572 9
2. Kamui Kobayashi Dams 1:43.863 9
3. Roldan Rodriguez Piquet GP 1:43.910 13
4. Diego Nunes Piquet GP 1:44.014 11
5. Pastor Maldonado ART Grand Prix 1:44.101 12
6. Luiz Razia ArdenInt. Motorsport  1:44.141 13
7. Giedo van der Garde GFH Team iSport 1:44.174 13
8. Davide Valsecchi Durango  1:44.310 12
9. Javier Villa Super Nova Racing 1:44.319 12
10. Alvaro Parente My Qi-Meritus.Mahara 1:44.321 13
11. Karun Chandhok  Ocean Racing Technology 1:44.472 13
12. Marco Bonanomi My Qi-Meritus.Mahara 1:44.477 12
13. Sergio Perez Barwa Int. Campos Team 1:44.546 12
14. James Jakes Super Nova Racing 1:44.552 11
15. Davide Rigon Trident Racing 1:44.649 13
16. Hamad Al Fardan GFH Team iSport 1:44.673 12
17. Sakon Yamamoto ART Grand Prix 1:44.705 12
18. Rodolfo Gonzalez Fisichella Motor Sport Int. 1:44.747 12
19. Edoardo Mortara ArdenInt. Motorsport  1:44.864 13
20 Vitaly Petrov Barwa Int. Campos Team 1:44.879 11
21. Michael Herck DPR 1:44.921 11
22. Giacomo Ricci DPR 1:45.676 12
23. Fabrizio Crestani Ocean Racing Technology 1:45.837 12
24. Kevin Nai Chia Chen Fisichella Motor Sport Int. 1:46.428 14
25. Ricardo Teixeira Trident Racing 1:46.485 13
26 Michael Dalle Stelle Durango  1:46.702 13

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review