Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Three drivers added to Indy 500
1996 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Lazier was one of three drivers added to the field for the 2009 Indianapolis 500, as 31 drivers are now named to the 41 entries for "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing."

Lazier becomes the fifth winner named to an entry, joining Helio Castroneves (2001-02), Dan Wheldon (2005), Dario Franchitti (2007) and Scott Dixon (2008).

Also named to drive an entry were popular veteran Milka Duno and rookie Nelson Philippe.

The 2009 Indianapolis 500 is scheduled for Sunday, May 24. Opening Day is Wednesday, May 6.

Lazier, from Vail, Colo., will drive the No. 91 Hemelgarn Johnson entry in an attempt to make his 17th career Indianapolis 500 start. It will be his second consecutive year at Indy with that team, as he started 32nd and finished 17th in 2008. But it will be his 13th year at Indy with team owner Ron Hemelgarn, for whom he won the "500" in 1996 and the IndyCar Series title in 2000.

Duno, from Caracas, Venezuela, will attempt to make her third Indy 500 start in the No. 23 CITGO/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing entry. She recorded a career-best Indy finish of 19th last year in a Dreyer & Reinbold entry.

Philippe, from Valence, France, will attempt to make his first "500" start in the No. 31 i drive green HVM Racing entry. Philippe competed in Champ Car from 2004-07, winning in 2006 at Surfers Paradise in a car fielded by CTE-HVM Racing, which is now HVM Racing.

Philippe will drive a new entry, increasing the total to 41 comprised of 77 cars. He is the fifth rookie in the field, joining Stanton Barrett, Mike Conway, Robert Doornbos and Raphael Matos.

The Rookie Orientation Program starts Tuesday, May 5 and continues Wednesday, May 6 at IMS.

An updated entry list is available at www.indy500.com.



Former race winners (5): Buddy Lazier (1996), Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002), Dan Wheldon (2005), Dario Franchitti (2007), Scott Dixon (2008).

Former pole winners (4): Helio Castroneves (2003, 2007), Scott Sharp (2001), Tony Kanaan (2005), Scott Dixon (2008).

Rookies (5): Stanton Barrett, Mike Conway, Robert Doornbos, Raphael Matos, Nelson Philippe.

U.S. born (12): John Andretti, Marco Andretti, Stanton Barrett, Ed Carpenter, Sarah Fisher, A.J. Foyt IV, Davey Hamilton, Buddy Lazier, Graham Rahal, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Danica Patrick, Scott Sharp.

Foreign born (19): Ryan Briscoe, Australia; Helio Castroneves, Brazil; Mike Conway, England; Scott Dixon, New Zealand; Robert Doornbos, Netherlands; Milka Duno, Venezuela; Dario Franchitti, Scotland; Tony Kanaan, Brazil; Alex Lloyd, England; Raphael Matos, Brazil; Vitor Meira, Brazil; Mario Moraes, Brazil; Hideki Mutoh, Japan; Nelson Philippe, France; Will Power, Australia; Paul Tracy, Canada; E.J. Viso, Venezuela; Dan Wheldon, England, Justin Wilson, England.

Youngest: Graham Rahal, 20.

Oldest: Davey Hamilton, 46.

Most previous starts: Buddy Lazier, 16.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review