Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Earnhardt Jr. Team Grabs Tissot Pit Crew Win in Talladega
Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 pit crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (April 26) NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Talladega Superspeedway.

It was the fourth pit road win in the last five races for a Hendrick Motorsports team. The other recent Hendrick winning teams were: Jimmie Johnson’s crew (at Bristol) and Jeff Gordon’s crew (at Martinsville and Texas).

The quick work on pit road by the No. 88 crew in Talladega helped Earnhardt Jr. to a second-place finish at the 2.66-mile oval. The team’s Chevrolet Impala SS spent the least amount of time on pit road – 255.440 seconds. 

“I am really happy about this award,” said No. 88 crew chief Tony Eury Jr. “We have spent a lot of time and effort to make the AMP Energy/National Guard crew great and this award shows that effort. They had awesome pit stops all day at Talladega. I’m really happy for the guys.”

Earnhardt’s pit crew consists of: Kip Wolfmeier (front-tire changer), Ben Fischbeck (front-tire carrier), Greg Burkhart (rear-tire changer), Matt Myers (rear-tire carrier), Mark Jacobs (jackman), Chris Fasulka (gasman), Jason Dalrymple (catch can). The team’s pit crew coach is Mark Mauldin.

The No. 88 team will receive $5,000 for winning the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award.

After nine of 36 Sprint Cup races Gordon’s No. 24 crew leads in the Tissot standings and the chase for the $100,000 season bonus which will go to the team with the most pit road wins. Along with prize money, members of the season pit crew championship crew and driver will receive a Tissot watch.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings
Pos    Team No.    Pit Crew For        Wins    Prize Money
1            24          Jeff Gordon            2        $10,000
T2          43            Reed Sorenson      1            5,000
T2          14            Tony Stewart        1            5,000
T2          16            Greg Biffle            1            5,000
T2          33            Clint Bowyer          1            5,000
T2          48            Jimmie Johnson    1            5,000
T2          39            Ryan Newman      1            5,000
T2          88            Dale Earnhardt Jr.  1            5,000

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona 2/15      Reed Sorenson Team
Fontana, 2/22    Tony Stewart Team
Las Vegas, 3/1    Greg Biffle Team 
Atlanta 3/8      Clint Bowyer Team
Bristol (3/22)    Jimmie Johnson Team 
Martinsville (3/29      Jeff Gordon Team
Fort Worth (4/5)  Jeff Gordon Team 
Phoenix (4/18)    Ryan Newman Team
Talladega (4/26)  Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review