Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Mortara wins first GP2 race
Edoardo Mortara held off the challenge of Romain Grosjean to claim the Sprint Race - and his first GP2 win - at the Circuit de Catalunya on Sunday morning.

The Italian, racing for Arden International, started on the second row of the grid - having finished sixth in Saturday's Main Race - but an excellent start saw him leap into the lead.

Jerome D'Ambrosio and Giedo van der Garde followed in second and third respectively, with Grosjean moving up to fourth ahead of pole sitter Kamui Kobayashi. Fourth quickly became third for Grosjean, who was the quickest man on track, and he then closed right in on Belgian D'Ambrosio, who only had eyes for the race leader. It did not take long for the French racer to get by his DAMS rival though, Grosjean stealing past by braking much later than his opponent.

However, the sight of Grosjean in his rear mirror was all Mortara needed to spring into action and establish a lead of just over a second.

Grosjean did reply - reducing the gap to 0.7 seconds - and though he did get a chance to attack the race leader late on, Mortara had enough about him to hang on for victory.


Pos Driver Team
1. Edoardo Mortara Telmex Arden International
2. Romain Grosjean Barwa Campos Team
3. Jérôme d’Ambrosio DAMS
4. Giedo van der Garde iSport International
5. Kamui Kobayashi DAMS
6. Pastor Maldonado ART Grand Prix
7 Luca Filippi Super Nova Racing
8. Diego Nunes iSport International
9. Vitaly Petrov Barwa Campos Team
10. Lucas di Grassi Fat Burner Racing Eng.
11. Alvaro Parente Ocean Racing Technology
12. Luiz Razia FMSI
13. Alberto Valerio Piquet GP
14. Nico Hülkenberg ART Grand Prix
15. Giacomo Ricci DPR
16. Davide Valsecchi Durango 
17. Sergio Perez Telmex Arden International
18. Nelson Panciatici Durango 
19. Dani Clos Fat Burner Racing Eng.
20. Ricardo Teixeira Trident Racing
21. Davide Rigon Trident Racing
DNF Driver Team
DNF Karun Chandhok  Ocean Racing Technology
DNF Javier Villa Super Nova Racing
DNF Michael Herck DPR
DNF Andreas Zuber FMSI
DNF Roldan Rodriguez Piquet GP

Fastest lap time: Dani Clos (Fat Burner Racing Engineering) – 1:30.063 on lap 4

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review