Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Redesigned Atlantic-Championship.com Now Online
The official website of the Cooper Tires Presents The Atlantic Championship Powered by Mazda has been completely redesigned and is now online at www.atlantic-championship.com.

The redesigned site features news, results and photos, as well as a wealth of information on drivers, teams, sponsors and the series itself. Over the days, weeks and months to come, new features will be continually added, including items such as a photo gallery, video highlights and interviews.

“We are excited to relaunch Atlantic-Championship.com with a whole new look just in time for this weekend’s race at Miller Motorsports Park,” said Atlantic Championship Executive Vice President Vicki O’Connor. “The new look of the site enables us to once again establish our own identity. The beauty of websites is that updates and new features can be performed constantly, and this new site will evolve considerably.”

The Atlantic Championship returns to action this weekend for the Larry H. Miller Dealerships Utah Grand Prix after a two-month break. John Edwards leads the race for the $1 million champion’s prize into Utah by virtue of his victory in the season-opening race at Sebring International Raceway in March. Edwards earned $50,000 for that victory.

The Atlantic Championship is the longest-running open-wheel driver development series in North America and celebrated its 35th Anniversary season in 2008, with Finnish rookie Markus Niemela taking the series championship in the final race of the season. With a $1 million champion’s prize and a total of $3 million in prize money up for grabs, the 2009 Atlantic Championship offers one of the most lucrative prize packages in North American open-wheel racing.

The series is noted for its long history of graduating its drivers into the top levels of motorsport throughout the world, including IndyCar drivers such as Bobby Rahal, Danny Sullivan, Michael Andretti, Jimmy Vasser, Danica Patrick, Dan Wheldon, Graham Rahal and Raphael Matos, Formula One world champions such as Jacques Villeneuve and Keke Rosberg, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers Sam Hornish Jr. and A.J. Allmendinger and sports car stars like Jon Fogarty, Alex Gurney, Michael Valiante, Joey Hand and Simon Pagenaud.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review