Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Maldonado wins red flagged sprint race
Pastor Maldonado
Pastor Maldonado has claimed another win for his glittering collection at Monaco as a result of leading the sprint race today when it was red flagged for an accident by Romain Grosjean, taking the top step on the podium ahead of Jerome d'Ambrosio and Nico Hülkenberg.

The Venezuelan didn't have it all his own way though: despite starting from pole he was handily beaten to Ste Devote by front row starter Karun Chandhok, who was in imperious form as he left the rest of the field in his smoke, while d'Ambrosio and Hülkenberg started their own race long battle for supremacy.

Further back Michael Herck took himself out of contention with an ill-advised move on Edoardo Mortara at the hairpin, after which the order of the race stayed fairly static as they accordioned around the fabled circuit.

Ocean Racing were looking to claim their first ever win with Chandhok easily in control of the race until the end of lap 20 when the Indian slowed across the line, heartbreakingly stopped with a suspected broken drive shaft, which handed the lead to Maldonado and prompted a safety car to compact the pack behind him.

Five laps later and Andreas Zuber was once again under pressure by Romain Grosjean, who jinked right but caught the Austrian's rear wheel and was sent barreling into the barriers at Tabac, prompting another track visit for the safety car. With just two laps remaining and plenty of debris to clear, the race was red flagged soon after.

The upshot of which was another Monaco win for Maldonado, just ahead of d'Ambrosio and Hülkenberg, with Lucas di Grassi and Zuber in an improbably undamaged car just behind, while Vitaly Petrov picked up a point for sixth and another for fastest lap. The Russian closed his teammate's championship lead down to 13 points, with Grosjean on 31 and d'Ambrosio joining Petrov on 18 points.


Pos Driver Team Time/Behind
1. Maldonado ART Grand Prix 39:02.772
2. D'Ambrosio DAMS + 1.505
3. Hulkenberg ART Grand Prix + 3.545
4. Di Grassi Fat Burner Racing + 4.480
5. Zuber FMSI + 6.494
6. Petrov Barwa Addax Team + 9.349
7. Rigon Trident Racing + 10.448
8. Villa Super Nova Racing + 53.234
9. Perez Telmex Arden International + 56.237
10. Razia FMSI + 57.770
11. Van Der Garde iSport International + 58.582
12. Kobayashi DAMS + 59.696
13. Mortara Telmex Arden International + 63.710
14. Nunes iSport International + 64.840
15. Panciatici Durango + 67.681
16. Herck DPR + 1 lap
17. Grosjean Barwa Addax Team + 2 laps
18. Valsecchi Durango + 2 laps
DNF Driver Team On lap
Clos Fat Burner Racing Engineering 23
Valerio Piquet GP 23
Filippi Super Nova Racing 23
Chandhok Ocean Racing Technology 21
Ricci DPR 18
Parente Ocean Racing Technology 15
Rodriguez Piquet GP 2

Fastest lap: Petrov, 1:22.045 on lap 9

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review