Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Richard Kent Wins Star Mazda Race 2 in NJ
Completing a return to form that has seen stops and starts to his Star Mazda Championship season, Englishman Richard Kent won Race 2 of the double-header Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear Mazda Formula X weekend at New Jersey Motorsports Park.  Kent led every lap from the pole after smashing the existing Star Mazda Championship lap record at New Jersey Motorsports Park by more than 4/10ths of a second in the #33 Andersen Racing / Traka / Lafarge N.A. / Allied Interior Products Mazda.

"I won the last race of last year at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and then sat on the pole at this year's season-opener at Sebring but missed the second race due to an injury and this race really marks the start of my 2009 season," says the driver from Milton Keynes, England.  "We just have to keep up on these podiums and winning these races and hopefully misfortune will come a few other people's way as well, as it has for me.  My leg still hurts a bit, but not in the car and it isn't affecting my on-track performance; I just have to be sensible with it when I'm away from the track.  But right now nothing hurts at all… Remy my engineer and Alan my mechanic have done a fantastic job putting together the car.  And the heat out there wasn't as hot as yesterday, but when you're running out front on your own trying to maintain concentration is always a struggle, so I just kept my head down and kept focused and it all worked out."

Finishing second, after starting on the outside of the front row, was Louisiana racer Alex Ardoin, driving the #51 JDC Motorsports / Oral & Facial Surgery Center / Twister Trailer Mazda.  It was a great comeback after a difficult day yesterday in which an off-course excursion jarred an ignition wire loose and left him stranded on course with no power.  Rounding out the top-3 was a familiar face in a familiar place from yesterday's race – Canadian racer Mikael Grenier, driving the #17 Andersen Racing / NAPA Auto Parts / CAA-Quebec / HS Telecom Mazda – who also finished third yesterday.

The top-finishing Master Series (aged 45 and over) driver was Californian Mike Guasch who co-starred in the biggest accident of Saturday's race when he spun his #91 JDC Motorsports / Molecule Mazda and was hit, hard, from behind while trying to re-enter the track.  His victory today brings him back to the form that has him leading the Master Series championship with three in-class wins.  He finished 18th overall in the 26-car field.  Bringing his #16 Kester Racing Team 3G / Texas World Speedway / Motul Oil Mazda home 15th overall and first in the Expert Series was Chris Cumming of Vancouver B.C.  He is the reigning 2008 Expert Series champion and is currently leading the 2009 Expert battle with three in-class wins.

Rounding out the top-5 overall were 2008 MAZDASPEED ladder driver Joel Miller who finished 4th in the #2 JDC Motorsports / Fader Higher Productions / eSoles / Doug Mockett & Co. Mazda, and Brazilian racer Caio Lara who moved up from 8th on the grid to finish 5th in his #19 JDC Motorsports / MLD / ATW/ Molecule Mazda.  And Peter 'The Irish Steamroller' Dempsey, who finished 6th on Saturday and 7th today in an altogether tough weekend in his #3 AIM Autosport / Motorsport Ireland / Queyside.ie Mazda, still managed to emerge as the points leader when former leader and 2-race winner Adam Christodoulou spent three laps in the pits to repair a suspension failure and finished 25th out of 26 cars.  Dempsey, in his second season of Star Mazda Championship racing, won four races last year, and also won Round 2 at Virginia International Raceway earlier this season.

Saturday's pole-sitter and race winner, Conor Daly, the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder winner, had a loose (oversteering) car in qualifying and started from 9th on the grid.  With only a single full-course yellow to bunch up the field during the entire 40-minute event, he drove every lap at 10/10ths and could do no better than 8th at the finish.  Daly, the son of racing legend and noted motorsports broadcaster Derek Daly, is the 2008 Skip Barber Pro Series champion and won his ride in the 2009 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear courtesy of the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder.  This unique program, the only one supported by a major automaker, provides champions from karting through the top levels of the sport with sponsorship to move up to the next level.

In the 2009 Star Mazda Championship battle, Peter Dempsey leads with 173, followed by American Joel Miller with 172.  Former leader Englishman Adam Christodoulou drops to third with 171.  Brazilian Caio Lara is in fourth with 158 points and Saturday's winner Conor Daly has moved up to fifth with 156.


No. Name Laps Total Tm Diff Gap Hometown Team
1 33 Richard Kent 29 41:08.993 0.000 0.000 Milton Keynes, England Andersen Racing
2 51 Alex Ardoin 29 41:11.827 2.834 2.834 Lafayette,La JDC Motorsports
3 17 Mikael Grenier 29 41:12.546 3.553 0.719 Stoneham, Canada Andersen Racing
4 2 Joel Miller 29 41:12.899 3.906 0.353 Hesperia, Ca JDC Motorsports
5 19 Caio Lara 29 41:15.792 6.799 2.893 Sao Paulo, Brazil JDC Motorsports
6 27 Anders Krohn 29 41:21.207 12.214 5.415 Sandnes, Norway Team Mundill
7 3 Peter Dempsey 29 41:21.694 12.701 0.487 Ashbourne, Ireland Aim Autosport
8 22 Conor Daly 29 41:21.794 12.801 0.100 Noblesville, In Andersen Racing
9 21 Denis Navarro 29 41:22.799 13.806 1.005 Sao Paulo, Brazil Andersen Racing
10 72 Jorge Goncalvez 29 41:26.069 17.076 3.270 Los Teques, Venezuela Aim Autosport
11 13 Michael Furfari 29 41:32.516 23.523 6.447 Toronto, Canada Juncos Racing
12 82 Billy Goshen 29 41:36.572 27.579 4.056 Brea,CA Goshen Motorsports
13 48 Kristy Kester 29 41:38.304 29.311 1.732 College Station, Tx Kester Racing Team 3G
14 15 Taylor Hacquard 29 41:39.008 30.015 0.704 Vancouver, Canada Kester Racing Team 3G
15 16 Chris Cumming 29 41:41.781 32.788 2.773 Vancouver, Canada Kester Racing Team 3G
16 77 Kevin Toledo 29 41:43.832 34.839 2.051 Rancagua, Chile Eliseo THL Motorsports
17 30 Rick Rosin 29 41:47.119 38.126 3.287 Brusque, Brazil Team GDT
18 91 Michael Guasch 29 41:57.759 48.766 10.640 Benicia, Ca JDC Motorsports
19 71 David Ostella 29 41:58.388 49.395 0.629 Maple, Canada Aim Autosport
20 61 Sean Burstyn 29 41:58.943 49.950 0.555 Miami Beach, Fl Juncos Racing
21 24 J.C. Kester 29 42:07.333 58.340 8.390 College Station, Tx Kester Racing Team 3G
22 80 Toshihiro Deki 28 41:22.659 1 Lap 1 Lap Yokohama, Japan Goshen Motorsports
23 31 Carlos Conde 28 41:26.078 1 Lap 3.419 San Juan, Puerto Rico American Speed Factory
24 23 Walt Bowlin 28 42:17.756 1 Lap 51.678 Tarpon Springs, Fl Juncos Racing
25 11 Adam Christodoulou 24 41:21.298 5 Laps 4 Laps Birmingham, England JDC Motorsports
26 66 Rusty Mitchell 5.791 29 Laps 24 Laps Midland, Tx Mitchell Motorsports

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review