Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Biffle’s Team Captures Tissot Pit Crew Award in Michigan 
For the third time this season, Greg Biffle’s No. 16 crew took top honors in the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award by winning the weekly competition in Sunday’s LifeLock 400 Sprint Cup race (June 14) at Michigan International Speedway.

The win not only paid Biffle’s crew $5,000, but it also lifted the No. 16 team to a tie for first in the Tissot standings. Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 crew also has three wins.

The crew with the most Tissot wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $100,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the crew and driver.

The win for the No. 16 crew at Michigan came as a result of Biffle’s 3M Ford Fusion spending the least amount of time on pit road (161.317 seconds) during the 400-mile race. The crew’s performance helped Biffle to a fifth-place finish.

The No. 16 crew won despite the absence of its regular rear-tire carrier -- Kevin McDowell, who stayed back in North Carolina with his wife due to the pending birth of the couple's first child. Garrett Redding filled in for McDowell.

“This Tissot win was earned by good pit stops, period,” said Rodney Fetters, jackman for the No. 16 crew. “The 3M team was on the same pit-road cycle as all the leaders and they got it done by defending our rectangle. In all my years of Cup racing, I have never seen a team that pulls together more than this team.”

Biffle’s over-the-wall crew at Michigan consisted of: Todd Zeigler (front-tire changer), Colin Pasi (front-tire carrier), Kyle Power (rear-tire changer), Garrett Redding (rear-tire carrier), Rodney Fetters (jackman), Billy Manchester (gasman), Ryan Dextraze (catch can) and Chris Elliott (windshield). The team's crew chief is Greg Erwin and the pit crew coach is Andy Ward.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/15 Reed Sorenson Team
Fontana, 2/22 Tony Stewart Team
Las Vegas, 3/1 Greg Biffle Team
Atlanta 3/8 Clint Bowyer Team
Bristol, 3/22 Jimmie Johnson Team
Martinsville, 3/29 Jeff Gordon Team
Fort Worth, 4/5 Jeff Gordon Team
Phoenix, 4/18 Ryan Newman Team
Talladega, 4/26 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Richmond, 5/2 Jeff Gordon Team
Darlington, 5/9 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Charlotte, 5/25 David Reutimann Team
Dover, 5/31 Greg Biffle Team
Pocono, 6/7 Carl Edwards Team
Michigan, 6/14 Greg Biffle Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review