Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Johnson’s Team Captures Tissot Pit Crew Award
Jimmie Johnson’s crew grabbed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (June 28) NASCAR Sprint Cup race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

It was the second Tissot victory of the season for the No. 48 crew, which also won at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway in March.

The win lifted Johnson’s crew to sole possession of third place in the Tissot standings. The crews for Jeff Gordon and Greg Biffle lead the weekly competition with three wins each.

The No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet Impala SS spent the least amount of time on pit road – 136.490 seconds -- during the New Hampshire rain-shortened event. The pit crew effort helped Johnson to a top-10 finish (ninth).

"As always, the (No. 48) pit crew did a great job on pit road last weekend,” said crew chief Chad Knaus. “Greg (Morin, pit crew coach) and the guys work hard week in and week out to be one of the best teams on pit road and it's nice when they're recognized for their work and dedication."

Johnson’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Mike Lingerfelt (front-tire changer), Art Simmons (front-tire carrier), Jeremy West (rear-tire changer), Andy Brown (rear-tire carrier), Kenneth Purcell (jackman), Rich Gutierrez (gasman), Mike Knauer (catch can) and Ron Malec (eighth man). The team’s pit crew coach is Greg Morin.

The No. 48 crew will collect $5,000 for the pit road win. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race Sprint Cup schedule will receive a $100,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the crew and driver. 

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings

Pos    Team No.    Pit Crew For            Wins    Prize Money
T1            24        Jeff Gordon                3        15,000
T1            16        Greg Biffle                3        15,000
3              48        Jimmie Johnson        2        10,000
T4            43        Reed Sorenson          1          5,000
T4            14        Tony Stewart            1          5,000
T4            33        Clint Bowyer              1          5,000
T4            39        Ryan Newman          1          5,000
T4            88        Dale Earnhardt Jr.      1          5,000
T4            1        Martin Truex Jr.        1          5,000
T4            00        David Reutimann        1          5,000
T4            99        Carl Edwards            1          5,000
T4            42        Juan Pablo Montoya  1          5,000

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/15          Reed Sorenson Team
Fontana, 2/22          Tony Stewart Team
Las Vegas, 3/1          Greg Biffle Team 
Atlanta 3/8                Clint Bowyer Team
Bristol, 3/22              Jimmie Johnson Team 
Martinsville, 3/29        Jeff Gordon Team
Fort Worth, 4/5          Jeff Gordon Team 
Phoenix, 4/18            Ryan Newman Team
Talladega, 4/26          Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Richmond, 5/2          Jeff Gordon Team
Darlington, 5/9            Martin Truex Jr. Team
Charlotte, 5/25            David Reutimann Team
Dover, 5/31                Greg Biffle Team
Pocono, 6/7                Carl Edwards Team
Michigan, 6/14            Greg Biffle Team 
Sonoma, 6/21              Juan Pablo Montoya Team
New Hampshire, 6/28    Jimmie Johnson Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review