Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Parente on pole in Spa Francorchamps
Alvaro Parente has claimed the first pole position for Ocean Racing Technology with a stunning lap just at the close of this afternoon's qualifying session to slot onto the top spot by less than a tenth from Lucas di Grassi and Nico Hülkenberg.

The Portuguese driver set a time of 1:54.970 to take tomorrow's pole position with a stunning lap which was timed to perfection, putting himself on a clear track as his rivals tripped over themselves on the last lap to give Parente his first GP2 pole.

The session opened under bright conditions and with a dry track, the opposite of this morning's free practice, and the pace was soon frantic on track as the field looked to claim an early advantage. Di Grassi, Sergio Perez and Hülkenberg set the early running until Davide Rigon beached himself after a spin at the Bus Stop, and the red flags were soon out so the marshals could retrieve the Italian.

Karun Chandhok set the fastest lap just after the session was restarted, but Hülkenberg was on a mission: he reclaimed the top spot a few minutes later, with di Grassi immediately shaded his rival's lap to put himself in a prime position for pole.

Title challenger Vitaly Petrov finally claimed a strong lap time but was still two tenths off the pace, and the front runners were soon into the pits for fresh tires and a final run at the prize with just five minutes left: Petrov and Hülkenberg caught traffic as Parente set his best time and, with one minute to go, Roldan Rodriguez stopped on track to bring the session to an early close.

Behind the top three Diego Nunes had his best qualifying session to finish fourth, just ahead of Petrov, Chandhok, Perez and Rodriguez, who were all within three tenths of pole. With 17 drivers within a second of the top spot, the battle at the start of tomorrow's race one promises to be the most intense fight so far this season.



Driver Team Time
1. Alvaro Parente Ocean 1m54.970s
2. Lucas di Grassi Racing Engineering 1m55.050s
3. Nico Hulkenberg ART 1m55.102s
4. Diego Nunes iSport 1m55.150s
5. Vitaly Petrov Barwa Addax 1m55.152s
6. Karun Chandhok Ocean 1m55.170s
7. Sergio Perez Arden 1m55.210s
8. Roldan Rodriguez Piquet 1m55.255s
9. Pastor Maldonado ART 1m55.462s
10. Kamui Kobayashi DAMS 1m55.482s
11. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1m55.517s
12. Giedo van der Garde iSport 1m55.560s
13. Javier Villa Super Nova 1m55.785s
14. Davide Rigon Trident 1m55.806s
15. Jerome d'Ambrosio DAMS 1m55.822s
16. Michael Herck DPR 1m55.858s
17. Davide Valsecchi Barwa Addax 1m55.928s
18. Luca Filippi Super Nova 1m56.061s
19. Alberto Valerio Piquet 1m56.063s
20 Edoardo Mortara Arden 1m56.285s
21. Stefano Coletti Durango 1m56.634s
22. Ricardo Teixeira Trident 1m57.688s
23. Nelson Panciatici Durango 1m57.792s
24. Franck Perera DPR 2m24.927s

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review