Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
Todt reveals full presidential team
Jean Todt
With the role of FIA President set to change this year for the first time since 1993, Jean Todt faces rivalry from 1981 World Rally Champion Ari Vatanen. Upon revealing his team on Tuesday, the 63-year-old released the following statement:

'On Friday the FIA opened submissions for the FIA Presidential election and I am pleased to confirm that I have formally submitted my complete candidacy team.

In accordance with the statutory requirements of the FIA, the list includes a Deputy President and seven vice-presidents for Sport; a Deputy President and seven vice-presidents for Automobile, Mobility and Tourism; and a President and five members of the FIA Senate.

I am delighted to have the support of what I believe is a dynamic leadership team with outstanding experience and knowledge of all the issues central to motoring and motor sport today. It is also a team representative of the entire FIA with members from across Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe, North America, and Latin America.

I am particularly proud that so many leading members of the FIA family have backed our vision for the future. Both the sporting and mobility sides of the FIA share common values supporting fairness for consumers and competitors, for safety and sustainability on road and track, and the right to enjoy the freedom that the automobile can provide.

To coincide with the submission of our full candidacy list our team is also publishing our 'Road Map to Renewal' which summarizes our key policy proposals for motor sport and mobility. We recognize that the FIA needs to renew itself and through innovation, excellence and teamwork, we can better meet the needs of our membership and meet the challenges of the years ahead.'

Jean Todt's full candidacy list is as follows:

- Jean Todt

Senate President
- Nicholas Craw, President, Automobile Competition Committee of the US (USA)

Deputy President Mobility
- Brian Gibbons, President, New Zealand Automobile Association (New Zealand)

Deputy President Sport
- Graham Stoker, Board Member, Motor Sports Association (UK)

Senate Members
- Hernan Gallegos Banderas, President, Automovil Club del Ecuador (Ecuador)
- HH Tunku Mudzaffar bin Tunku Mustapha, Chairman, Automobile Association of Malaysia (Malaysia)
- S.H. Rudolf Graf von der Schulenburg, President, Automobilclub von Deutschland (Germany)
- Carlos Slim Domit, Patron, Asociaci¢n Mexicana Automovilistica (Mexico)
Jainchang Yan, Deputy President, Federation of Automobile Sports of China (China)

Mobility Vice Presidents
- Carlos Barbosa, President, Automovel Club de Portugal (Portugal)
- Victor Dumot, President, Touring and Automobile Club of Paraguay (Paraguay)
- Ignacio Gonzalez Fausto, President, Asociaci¢n Mexicana Automovilistica (Mexico)
- Gus Lagman, President, Automobile Association Philippines (Philippines)
- Franco Lucchesi, Delegate to the FIA, Automobile Club d'Italia (Italy)
- Jorge Rosales, President, Automobile Club of Argentina (Argentina)
- Danijel Starman, President, Avto-moto zveza Slovenije (Slovenia)

Sport Vice Presidents
- José Abed, President, Organizacion Mexicana del Deporte Automovilistico Internacional (Mexico)
- Michel Boeri, President, Automobile Club de Monaco (Monaco)
- Morrie Chandler, Honorary President, MotorSport New Zealand (New Zealand)
- Enrico Gelpi, President, Automobile Club d'Italia (Italy)
- Carlos Gracia, President, Real Federaci¢n Española de Automovilismo (Spain)
- Mohamed ben Sulayem, President, Automobile and Touring Club for United Arab Emirates (UAE)
- Surinder Thatthi, Automobile Association of Tanzania (Tanzania)

Full profiles on all members of the cabinet can be read here
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review