Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Toyota Takes Second Nationwide Series Title
When Kyle Busch's Camry crossed the finish line second in Saturday's NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) race at Memphis Motorsports Park, it enabled Toyota to clinch its second consecutive NNS manufacturer's championship in just its third year of series competition.

This marks the fifth time that Toyota has earned a NASCAR manufacturer's title since its NASCAR entry in 2004. Last year, Toyota captured its first NNS title, and in each of the past three years (2006, 2007 and 2008) Toyota has won the manufacturer's championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS).

The performance of six full-time teams fielding eight Camrys -- Braun Racing, CJM Racing, Germain Racing, Joe Gibbs Racing, JTG Daugherty Racing and Michael Waltrip Racing -- all contributed to the 2009 title earning Toyota the Bill France Performance Cup. Camry Nationwide Series drivers have combined to produce 13 victories, 62 top-five finishes, 114 top- 10 results and 12 pole positions in the first 32 events of the 2009 season.

"Toyota's accomplishments are the result of hard work and achievement by all of our race teams working in conjunction with TRD, U.S.A. (Toyota Racing Development)," said Lee White, TRD's president and general manager. "All the tireless efforts during the off-season and throughout the season, in combination with a talented driver line-up, have produced the exceptional results that yielded this championship."

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review