Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
Motorsports Hall of Fame 2010 Inductees
Racing luminaries Dale Armstrong, Joie Chitwood, Alan Kulwicki, Jeremy McGrath, Ken Squier, Jerry Titus and Rich Vogler will be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America when the organization stages its annual induction ceremony on Aug. 25, 2010 at The Fillmore Detroit.

“The Motorsports Hall of Fame Class of 2010 features champion drivers who doubled as an innovative crew chief, a showman and stunt man, a race team owner and a magazine editor.  Joining them are an all-time win leader in sprint cars and midgets, a ground breaking broadcaster and a legendary Supercross rider whose nickname was ‘Showtime.’  Their exploits on and around the race tracks of America make them true hall of famers,” said Ron Watson, president of the Hall of Fame.

Dale Armstrong – Credited with numerous innovations in drag racing technology, Armstrong was the first crew chief to use wind tunnels for improved aerodynamics.  This mechanical genius tuned Kenny Bernstein to four consecutive Funny Car championships in 1985-1988, plus a total of 28 national event wins.  Later, with Bernstein in the Top Fuel division, he became the first crew chief to break the 300 MPH barrier.  The 1996 Top Fuel title placed Armstrong among the elite crew chiefs to have won championships in both Funny Car and Top Fuel.  Armstrong had an outstanding driving career himself, winning 12 NHRA National events in the 1970s.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review