Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Hans Herrmann Returns to Sebring
Hans Hermann was still driving in the 60's.  Here at Sebring in a factory Porsche
Fifty-years ago Porsche (1960) scored its first major international overall victory at Sebring's 12-hour classic. Hans Herrmann and Olivier Gendebien drove a Porsche RS60 to victory, finishing nine laps ahead of another Porsche driven by Bob Holbert and Roy Schechter.

Since then, Porsche has built an unsurpassed resume of records at America's greatest sports car race. The German manufacturer has accumulated 18 overall wins and 65 class victories in six decades of racing at Sebring. Porsche has led 4,198 laps (19,977 miles) at the legendary Florida circuit.

Al Holbert, Hans Herrmann, Vic Elford, Hurley Haywood, Bobby Rahal, Brian Redman, Hans Stuck and A.J. Foyt and are just a few of the drivers who have celebrated in Sebring's victory lane after piloting a Porsche to victory. Porsche was inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame as part of its inaugural class in 2002.

At this year's Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Fresh from Florida, legendary driver Hans Herrmann will return to Sebring to commemorate the 50th anniversary of his 1960 Sebring victory.

Herrmann also won the 12 hours in 1968 driving a Porsche 907 with Jo Siffert. Herrmann will be appearing at the Hall of Fame Autograph Session Friday, March 19th, in the Gallery of Legends building in the paddock. He will be joined by legends, John Morton, Hurley Haywood, Derek Daly and Derek Bell.

Gates open at Sebring on Wednesday, March 17th, and remain open 24 hours a day through Saturday's running of the 12-hour classic. For more information, visit sebringraceway.com or call 800-626-7223.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review