Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Truex crew win Tissot award again
The over-the-wall crew for Martin Truex Jr. claimed another victory, earning the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (March 7) Kobalt Tools 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

The No. 56 crew’s performance places the team in first place in the Tissot standings with back-to-back wins (Las Vegas, Atlanta) after four races in the 2010 season.

Truex’s NAPA Auto Parts Toyota, out of the Michael Waltrip Racing team, spent the least amount of time on pit road – 349.623 seconds – during the overtime race, which was extended from 325 laps to 341. Race winner Kurt Busch’s No. 2 Dodge was second (352.887) and Paul Menard’s No. 98 Ford was third (353.488).

“My pit crew is absolutely unbelievable,” said Truex. “I think when all is said and done, they’ll all have a Tissot watch in about five more weeks. They are that good. In Atlanta, my car wasn’t handling the way we needed in the first part of the race. We were a top-15 team, but after each stop, they got me close or put me in the top-10. They really have made an impact on our performance, and I appreciate it. They deserve this award, and I am glad Tissot and NASCAR provide the pit crews with this kind of recognition.”
Truex’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Cory Quick (front-tire changer), Craig Curione (front-tire carrier), Shannon Myers (rear-tire changer), Mark Kennerly (rear-tire carrier), Brian Chase (jackman), Doug Newell (gasman) and Keith Koppenal (catch can). The team’s crew chief is Pat Tryson and the pit crew coach is Greg Miller.
The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver. 


Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/14      Juan Pablo Montoya Team
Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team 
Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review