Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Skip Barber Sebring preview
After providing arguably the best racing of the weekend at the Grand Prix of Miami at Homestead-Miami Speedway, the drivers of the 2010 BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National next tackle the historic 3.7 mile Sebring International Raceway for Rounds 3 and 4 of the season during the 58th Annual 12 Hours of Sebring. Point leader and MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development driver Spencer Pigot looks to carry his momentum north from Homestead, where he scored a pole and a third before picking up his first career Skip Barber National victory while several drivers look to make that final step onto the top of the podium this weekend.

2009 Review Last year at Sebring was about one driver; Connor De Phillippi. De Phillippi, the eventual Skip Barber National Champion picked up his first two Skip Barber National wins from pole in dominating fashion on his way to a record-setting seven wins on the season. De Phillippi makes his Star Mazda debut this weekend with JDC Motorsports. Of our trio of sophomore drivers this season, this year’s second in points Dennis Trebing came away with the best results at Sebring, coming back from a pair of high speed shunts early in the week to score a pair of front row starting positions and a third place in Race 1. Isaac Lyons made his Skip Barber National debut with a sixth and a 16th while Ashley Freiberg was 19th and 14th in her two races.

Past Champion News

A pair of past National Champions got their seasons off on the right foot at this past weekend’s IZOD IndyCar Series opener in Brazil. 1999 National Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay led the most laps in an exciting wet and dry race before coming home in second, while 2003 champ Raphael Matos scored a career best fourth in the streets of Sao Paulo. 2004 National Champion Marco Andretti didn’t fare as well, being taken out in Turn 1 on the first lap of the race.
Joining Connor De Phillippi on the grid for the Star Mazda opener at Sebring is 2008 National Champion Conor Daly, who recently signed with Junco Motorsports for the 2010 season. Rumor has it that 2007 champ Joel Miller may have a deal in time to join De Phillippi and Daly on the grid next week. 

Entry list, Rounds 3 & 4, 2010 BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda Sebring International Raceway, 3.7-mile, 17-turn road course.

S – Skip Barber Cup driver

Abdul Ahmed -S, 26, Andover, Kan. Scott Anderson, 21, Fort Collins, Colo. Nick Andries, 19, Pinellas Park, Fla. Nicolas Costa, 18, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Luis Michael Dörrbecker, 17, Queretaro, Mexico Danilo Estrela, 16, Long Branch, N.J. Ashley Freiberg, 18, Homer Glen, Ill. Daniel Lloyd, 17, Huddersfield, England Isaac Lyons, 20, Hillsborough Down, Northern Ireland Thomas McGregor, 18, Saskatoon, Sask., Canada Brandon Newey, 17, Indianapolis, Ind. Jim Norman -S, 51, Tampa, Fla. Wilson Philippe, 16, Key Biscayne, Fla. Spencer Pigot, 17, Windermere, Fla. Felix Serralles, 17, Haines City, Fla. Mukul Sud, 24, Bangalore, India Dennis Trebing, 18, Cape Coral, Fla.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review