Schu, Brawn, confident Alonso pass was legalUPDATE Michael Schumacher has been assessed a 20-second penalty for having passed Fernando Alonso on the final corner of the Monaco Grand Prix, and drops from sixth to 12th in the final standings.
Schumacher will eventually get his sixth place reinstated because race steward Damon Hill made the wrong call, probably out of revenge
Under rule 40.13, which states that "if the race ends while the safety car is deployed it will enter the pitlane at the end of the last lap and the cars will take the checkered flag as normal without overtaking," Schumacher has been given a penalty.
The German, who had passed Alonso for sixth, dropped all the way down to 12th, meaning Toro Rosso's Sebastien Buemi's scores the final point for 10th.
05/16/10 (GMM) Michael Schumacher and Ross Brawn are confident there will no post-race penalty applied by the stewards in the wake of a controversial last-lap incident.
The seven time world champion passed Ferrari's Fernando Alonso at the last corner of Sunday's Monaco grand prix, after the safety car that had been deployed for the Jarno Trulli/Karun Chandhok crash pulled into the pits.
There is a new rule in 2010 that allows overtaking between the safety car line and the finish line.
Where the confusion arises is that if a race finishes under the safety car, there is no overtaking allowed even though the safety car itself pulls into the pits.
"We were advised before the end of the race that the safety car was coming in," Brawn told the BBC. "There was no instruction that the race was going to finish under the safety car."
Schumacher told German television RTL: "We saw the message 'Track Clear' officially on screen two. So that means the safety car goes in and the race is back on."
The 41-year-old laughed that it is "interesting" that his former nemesis Damon Hill is the driver-steward this weekend.
Copyright 1999-2013 | AutoRacing1 is an
independent internet online publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed
by IndyCar, NASCAR, FIA, Sprint, or any other series sponsor.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without