Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Kenseth's crew wins Dover Tissot Pit Crew round
Matt Kenseth’s crew claimed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (May 16) Autism Speaks 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Dover International Speedway.

It was the second Tissot win of the season for the No. 17 crew, which also won in Phoenix on April 10. The only other team to score two Tissot wins after 12 Cup races is Martin Truex Jr.’s No. 56 crew.

Kenseth’s Ford Fusion spent the least amount of time on pit road – 255.005    seconds – during the 400-lap, 400-mile race at Dover’s Monster Mile. The quick work by the No. 17 crew helped Kenseth to a third-place finish.

“It was awesome to hear that our No. 17 team won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award for the second time in the last five races,” said No. 17 crew chief Todd Parrott. “The guys had really good pit stops even with a fairly major change that we did. They worked together and got it done in a timely manner. Matt (Kenseth) did a killer job getting on and off of pit road which is extremely important to helping us make good time on our stops; he’s really one of the best at making up time on pit road.”
The No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing over-the-wall crew consists of: Justin Nottestad (front-tire changer), Joe Crossen (front-tire carrier), Dave Smith (rear-tire changer), Garrett Reding (rear-tire carrier), Cameron Cobb (jackman), Brad Robison (gasman) and Dave McDonald (catch can).
The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Kenseth’s and Truex’s crews lead the Tissot standings with two wins each. Eight teams are tied for second with one win.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/14      Juan Pablo Montoya Team
Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team 
Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team
Martinsville, 3/29  Clint Bowyer Team
Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team
Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Talladega, 4/25 David Reutimann Team
Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team
Darlington, 5/8 Jamie McMurray Team
Dover, 5/16 Matt Kenseth Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review