Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
F3 Masters
Alexander Sims claims pole position at Masters
Alexander Sims
British driver Alexander Sims (ART Grand Prix, 1:30.956 minutes) was the fastest driver in the two qualifying sessions of the RTL GP Masters of Formula 3 at the 4.307 kilometers long Circuit Park Zandvoort. As a result, Sims, who is currently placed fifth in the points’ standings of the Formula 3 Euro Series will be starting from pole position into tomorrow’s race, arguably Europe’s most important Formula 3 race. Valtteri Bottas (ART Grand Prix, 1:31.112 minutes), Marco Wittmann (Signature, 1:31.463 minutes) and Roberto Merhi (Mücke Motorsport, 1:31.641 minutes) completed the top 4. Thus, the teams from the Formula 3 Euro Series occupied eight places in the top ten and again underlined the top position of the Euro Series in the European Formula 3 scene.

Alexander Sims (ART Grand Prix): “Being on pole position at the Masters is great. My team has given me a car that felt really good. We were already fast with used tires, but with new tires in the second half, it was even better. Of course, now my goal is to win the race, too.”

Valtteri Bottas (ART Grand Prix): “I came to Zandvoort with the goal of winning this race a second time. For me, nothing is lost yet with second place on the grid, winning is still possible. Unfortunately, the interruption following Marco Wittmann’s accident didn’t help me. Otherwise, it could probably have been better.”

Marco Wittmann (Signature): “I am happy and disappointed at the same time. On one hand, I hadn’t expected that we would be faster in second qualifying than in first. I made up one place and that is good. But I wanted more and took too many risks. I came off the track, which really annoys me.”

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1. Alexander Sims ART D/M 1m30.956s + 0.000s
2. Valtteri Bottas ART D/M 1m31.112s + 0.156s
3. Marco Wittmann Signature D/V 1m31.463s + 0.507s
4. Roberto Merhi Mucke D/M 1m31.641s + 0.685s
5. Carlos Munoz Mucke D/M 1m31.667s + 0.711s
6. Nigel Melker Mucke D/M 1m31.687s + 0.731s
7. Edoardo Mortara Signature D/V 1m31.713s + 0.757s
8. Jean-Eric Vergne Carlin D/V 1m31.765s + 0.809s
9. William Buller Hitech D/V 1m31.780s + 0.824s
10. Jim Pla ART D/M 1m31.812s + 0.856s
11. Antonio Felix da Costa Motopark D/V 1m31.969s + 1.013s
12. Daniel Juncadella Prema D/M 1m31.993s + 1.037s
13. Jazeman Jaafar Carlin D/V 1m32.070s + 1.114s
14. Stef Dusseldorp Signature D/V 1m32.086s + 1.130s
15. Rupert Svendsen-Cook Carlin D/V 1m32.125s + 1.169s
16. Gabriel Dias Hitech D/V 1m32.238s + 1.282s
17. Nicolas Marroc Prema D/M 1m32.430s + 1.474s
18. Lucas Foresti Carlin D/V 1m32.529s + 1.573s
19. Matias Laine Motopark D/V 1m32.569s + 1.613s
20. Hywel Lloyd CF/Manor D/M 1m32.777s + 1.821s
21. Rio Haryanto CF/Manor D/M 1m33.099s + 2.143s
22. Adderly Fong Sino Vision D/M 1m34.501s + 3.545s
23. Wayne Boyd Sino Vision D/M 1m34.798s + 3.842s
24. Laurens Vanthoor Signature D/V no time -

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review