Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Lorenzo rockets to Silverstone pole
Jorge Lorenzo secured his first pole position of the 2010 campaign for the AirAsia British Grand Prix after an exciting qualifying practice at Silverstone. The World Championship leader battled with Randy de Puniet through the latter stages of the session, finally edging the Frenchman out with a best time of 2’03.308.

De Puniet had stunned the rest of the field with 15 minutes to go when he stripped half a second off Lorenzo’s top time, and the LCR Honda man looked on course for his first ever premier class pole when he again improved on that. However, his 2’03.434 was eventually the second fastest time as Lorenzo took pole back, and the Frenchman was left to be satisfied with his first front row start since Assen 2007. De Puniet also experienced a fall right at the end of the session as he pushed hard, one which he escaped uninjured.

Completing the front row will be Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa who was 0.152s further back. The Spaniard set his fastest lap on his final turn of the circuit, and then had a crash at Turn 12 which saw him stretchered off the side of the track. X-rays at the medical centre confirmed that Pedrosa had suffered bruising to his left and right knees, and will be able to take his position on the starting grid on Sunday.

Leading the second row will be another Repsol Honda rider Andrea Dovizioso, who was four-tenths of a second off his team-mate’s pace and the final rider to get within a second of Lorenzo (+0.687s). Ducati Marlboro duo Nicky Hayden and Casey Stoner had just 0.062s between them as they took fifth and sixth spots on the grid respectively.

The top ten in the session was completed by Ben Spies (Monster Yamaha Tech3), San Carlo Honda Gresini pair Marco Melandri and Marco Simoncelli, and Spies’ team-mate Colin Edwards. Sunday’s MotoGP race will start at 1pm local time.



Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Time Gap 1st/Prev.
1 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 2'03.308 -
2 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 2'03.434 0.126 / 0.126
3 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 2'03.586 0.278 / 0.152
4 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 2'03.995 0.687 / 0.409
5 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 2'04.332 1.024 / 0.337
6 27 Casey STONER AUS Ducati Team Ducati 2'04.394 1.086 / 0.062
7 11 Ben SPIES USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2'04.477 1.169 / 0.083
8 33 Marco MELANDRI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 2'04.555 1.247 / 0.078
9 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 2'04.868 1.560 / 0.313
10 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2'05.035 1.727 / 0.167
11 40 Hector BARBERA SPA Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati 2'05.354 2.046 / 0.319
12 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP Honda 2'05.712 2.404 / 0.358
13 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 2'05.748 2.440 / 0.036
14 65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 2'05.821 2.513 / 0.073
15 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 2'06.607 3.299 / 0.786
16 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Pramac Racing Team Ducati 2'06.980 3.672 / 0.373

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review