Star Mazda admit they screwed Daly Star Mazda Championship officials apologized to Conor Daly this morning for making an incorrect call regarding his penalty in the race at New Jersey Motorsports Park yesterday afternoon. Daly was penalized for what officials saw as "jumping the start", when in fact, Daly followed the rules as stated in the official rule book. Daly was forced to leave his position at the front of the field behind as he served a stop and go restart in the pits, sending him to the back of the field. Daly surged through the field of cars throughout the 29-lap race, passing cars until the last lap, to ultimately finish the race on the podium in third position. The false penalty cost the 18-year-old what could have been a record-breaking five wins in a row.
Statement from Juncos Racing: "It's really unfortunate that an incorrect call was made in yesterday's race. It's disappointing for Conor and the whole team that our chance to break the record and win five races in a row was taken from us with a penalty we didn't even deserve. Though we can't go back and change what happened, we appreciate the apology from the officials for their mistake. There is no doubt that the #22 team has a great car and a great driver in Conor, and that we are well capable of racing to the front. All we can do now is move on from this mistake and hope it doesn't happen again."
Conor Daly has had four wins and two third-place finishes in the six races that have taken place this season. Round Seven of the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear commences this afternoon at 3:05 p.m. EST where Daly will challenge the field for his fifth win of the season. For more information, please go to www.juncosracing.com.
Copyright 1999-2017 | AutoRacing1 is an
independent internet online publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed
by IndyCar, NASCAR, FIA, Sprint, or any other series sponsor.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without