Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Gordon's crew wins Tissot pit crew round
Jeff Gordon’s crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (June 27) NASCAR Sprint Cup race in Loudon, N.H.

It was the third win of the season for the No. 24 crew, which moved into sole possession of first place in the Tissot season standings. The pit crews for Martin Truex Jr. and Matt Kenseth are tied for second with two wins each.

Gordon’s No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on pit road – 172.661 seconds – during the Lenox Industrial Tools 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. The quick work helped Gordon to a fourth-place finish.

Coming in second was Kevin Harvick’s No. 29 Shell/Pennzoil Chevrolet (176.258) and finishing third was Joey Logano’s No. 20 Home Depot Chevrolet (177.679).

"The DuPont crew had another solid performance this weekend in New Hampshire," said crew chief Steve Letarte. “With all the green flag pit stops during the race, we needed to have clean, reliable stops all day -- and we did.”

Gordon’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Clay Robinson (front-tire changer), Mike Houston (front-tire carrier), Joe Slingerland (rear-tire changer), Matt Ver Meer (rear-tire carrier), Jeff Cook (jackman), Caleb Hurd (gasman), Jamie Frady (catch can), Colin Fambrough (back-up tire changer) and Andy Kruep (eighth man). The team’s pit crew coach is Greg Morin.

Along with winning $5,000 for the weekly pit crew competition the crew with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the end of the 36-race Sprint Cup schedule will collect a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.


2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings

Pos    Team No.    Pit Crew For        Wins    Prize Money

1            24          Jeff Gordon            3      $15,000
T2            56          Martin Truex Jr.        2        10,000
T2            17          Matt Kenseth            2        10,000
T4            42        Juan Pablo Montoya  1          5,000
T4            12        Brad Keselowski        1          5,000
T4            33        Clint Bowyer              1          5,000
T4            88        Dale Earnhardt Jr.      1          5,000
T4            00        David Reutimann        1          5,000
T4            39        Ryan Newman            1          5,000
T4            1          Jamie McMurray        1          5,000
T4            18        Kyle Busch                1          5,000
T4            2          Kurt Busch                1            5,000
T4            26        Boris Said                1            5,000

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/14      Juan Pablo Montoya Team
Fontana, 2/21      Jeff Gordon Team 
Las Vegas, 2/28    Martin Truex Jr. Team
Atlanta, 3/7          Martin Truex Jr. Team
Bristol, 3/21          Brad Keselowski Team
Martinsville, 3/29  Clint Bowyer Team
Phoenix, 4/10        Matt Kenseth Team
Texas, 4/19          Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Talladega 4/25      David Reutimann Team
Richmond, 5/1      Ryan Newman Team
Darlington, 5/8      Jamie McMurray Team
Dover, 5/16          Matt Kenseth Team
Charlotte, 5/30      Jeff Gordon Team
Pocono, 6/6          Kyle Busch Team
Michigan, 6/13      Kurt Busch Team
Sonoma, 6/20      Boris Said Team 
Loudon, 6/27        Jeff Gordon Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review