Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Hamilton to receive Lorenzo Bandini trophy
(GMM)  Lewis Hamilton will receive the prestigious Lorenzo Bandini trophy next weekend.

The Trofeo Lorenzo Bandini is an ongoing tribute to the leading Italian driver of his period, who was burned to death in an accident at Monaco in 1967.

Last year's recipient was Sebastian Vettel, when he drove the 12 kilometers from Faenza to Bandini's nearby hometown of Brisighella at the wheel of a Toro Rosso.

A year earlier, winner Robert Kubica turned up at the ceremony in a BMW-Sauber, but in 2010 Hamilton's mount will be a more sedate Mercedes road car.

Previous winners include Felipe Massa, Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Michael Schumacher, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jenson Button, Jarno Trulli and Jacques Villeneuve.

"The list reads like a who's who of formula one talent, and I'm very honored to be joining that group," said Hamilton.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review