Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
McMurray’s Crew Wins Tissot Pit Road Award at Chicagoland
Jamie McMurray’s crew grabbed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s (July 10) NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Ill.

It was the second Tissot win of the season for the No. 1 McDonald’s crew, which also took top honors at the May 8th Cup race at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway. 

McMurray No. 1 McDonald’s Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on pit road – 189.002 seconds – during the LifeLock.com 400. The fast and accurate work by the McDonald’s crew helped McMurray to a fifth-place finish.

For the second straight week Clint Bowyer’s No. 33 Cheerios crew came in a close second (190.819 seconds). Finishing third was Martin Truex Jr.’s NAPA crew (191.086).

"We had a very good weekend on pit road and continue to be a consistent and efficient team,” said Adam Mosher, the No. 1 team’s pit crew coach and rear-tire carrier. “We're looking forward to a week off and then right back at it going into the Brickyard. Congrats to the guys, and we hope to duplicate this effort at the Brickyard!"

McMurray’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Cory DeMarco (front-tire changer), Doug Riepe (front-tire carrier), Chris Taylor (rear-tire changer), Adam Mosher (rear-tire carrier), Tracy Duncan (jackman), Benjy Grubbs (gasman) and Eric Hoyle (catch can). The team’s crew chief is Kevin Manion.

Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 crew leads in the Tissot standings with four wins. McMurray’s crew along with the crews for Truex and Matt Kenseth are tied for second with two wins.

The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review