Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Vernay nips Hinchcliffe for Indy Lights pole in Toronto
J.K. Vernay
Frenchman J.K. Vernay stole the pole. Less than 24 hours later, the Firestone Indy Lights points leader hopes to steal the show.

Vernay recorded the quickest lap – 1 minute, 5.2989 seconds -- in qualifications for the Toronto 100 with a minute left in the 50-minute session to earn the pole for the 50-lap race on the 1.75-mile, 11-turn street circuit at Exhibition Place.

It was the second pole and fourth front-row start of the season for Vernay in the No. 7 Lucas Oil/CJ/Sam Schmidt Motorsports car (and the 34th Firestone Indy Lights pole for the team). James Hinchcliffe, driving the No. 2 TMR-Xtreme Coil Drilling car, was atop the time sheet throughout the session with a best lap of 1:05.3478 and will start second for the second year in a row in his home race.

“It was great really, really hot, but great," Vernay said. "My whole team did such a great job, my engineer and the crew they were great. At the beginning we were struggling a little bit but towards the end we found the right line and made it work. Hopefully tomorrow we will have a repeat.”

Hinchcliffe, 36 points behind Vernay in the championship standings, will make his fourth front-row start of the season.

“It was pretty exciting qualifying today," Hinchcliffe said. "It didn’t quite go as we planned, we came in on our first set of tires, hit a bunch of traffic, got a great lap in, came in to get an adjustment and as we went to go leave the pit the car wouldn’t start. So as a result we ha dot pull in the second set of tires and just decided to go for broke. The car was good but we didn’t quite have enough. We’re going to give him a run for his money tomorrow and it’s great to be racing here in Toronto.”

Dan Clarke posted his best qualifying effort in the No. 40 Wasteco Deans Knight Special of third (1:05.7733). He’ll be joined on the second row by Gustavo Yacaman (1:05.8067), who also notched his best starting effort in the No. 10 Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing car.

Adrian Campos Jr. (1:05.8434) in the No. 22 TMR-Xtreme Coil Drilling car and Sebastian Saavedra (1:05.9239), who won the race last year, will start on Row 3. AFS Racing Andretti Autosport teammates Charlie Kimball and Martin Plowman will start from Row 3.



Driver Team No. Time Diff 1st Gap Speed
1 J.K. Vernay Sam Schmidt Motorsports 7 01:05.299 0.000 0.000 96.755
2 James Hinchcliffe Team Moore Racing 2 01:05.348 0.049 0.049 96.683
3 Dan Clarke Walker Racing 40 01:05.773 0.474 0.425 96.057
4 Gustavo Yacaman Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing 10 01:05.807 0.508 0.034 96.008
5 Adrian Campos Jr. Team Moore Racing 22 01:05.843 0.544 0.036 95.955
6 Sebastian Saavedra Bryan Herta Autosport 29 01:05.924 0.625 0.081 95.838
7 Charlie Kimball AFS Racing/Andretti Autosport 26 01:05.935 0.636 0.011 95.822
8 Martin Plowman AFS Racing/Andretti Autosport 27 01:06.270 0.971 0.335 95.338
9 Tonis Kasemets Andersen Racing 5 01:06.510 1.211 0.240 94.993
10 Stefan Wilson Bryan Herta Autosport 28 01:06.613 1.314 0.103 94.846
11 James Winslow Sam Schmidt Motorsports 77 01:06.801 1.502 0.188 94.58
12 Philip Major Sam Schmidt Motorsports 49 01:07.291 1.992 0.490 93.891
13 Pippa Mann Sam Schmidt Motorsports 11 01:07.525 2.226 0.234 93.565
14 Rodrigo Barbosa PDM Racing 18 01:08.651 3.352 1.126 92.031
15 Carmen Jorda Andersen Racing 4 01:08.844 3.545 0.193 91.772

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review