Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Lime Rock trivia
To get everyone in the racing spirit this weekend, here are a few fun facts you can use to show off to your friends!

1. Founded in 1957, Lime Rock Park’s history is awash in sports car racing. The American Le Mans Series first raced at Lime Rock in 2004. But top-level sports car championships such as Can-Am, IMSA GT and Trans-Am have left their marks in Lime Rock’s history books as well. Among the more “seasoned” veterans entered this year include Muscle Milk Team CytoSport’s Greg Pickett (1981 Trans-Am winner) and Robertson Racing’s David Murry (1985 Sports Renault winner) and Andy Wallace.

2. Eleven drivers entered for this year’s race have won previous Series events at Lime Rock. Jörg Bergmeister is unquestionably the most successful of the bunch with four consecutive GT2 wins – all coming for Porsche. He won with Patrick Long in 2006 (with Petersen/White Lightning) and in 2009 with Flying Lizard Motorsports. He teamed with Johannes van Overbeek (2007) and Wolf Henzler (2008) to win in Lizard Porsches as well.

The other seven previous event winners: Olivier Beretta (2004, 2005 and 2007 GT1); David Brabham (2008 overall and P2); Oliver Gavin (2004, 2005 and 2007 GT1); Jan Magnussen (2008 GT1); Johnny O’Connell (2008 GT1); Simon Pagenaud (2009 overall and P1); and Scott Sharp (2008 overall and P2).

3. Four drivers in this year’s race have competed in each of the six previous Lime Rock rounds: Jörg Bergmeister, Chris Dyson, Seth Neiman and Johannes van Overbeek.

4. The 2006 GT1 margin of victory between Aston Martin and Corvette was just 0.033 seconds, the closest finish in Series history. The next year, the winning margin in class was just 0.384 seconds between two factory Corvettes.

5. There have been multiple overall lead-lap finishes in each of the six races at Lime Rock, an amazing feat given the track’s length.

6. Ferrari is the only other manufacturer to win in GT2/GT at Lime Rock other than Porsche. Risi Competizione’s Anthony Lazzaro and Ralf Kelleners won by a lap over the nearest Porsche.

7. Overall winners have come from the pole (2005, 2008, and 2009), second (2004), fourth (2006, started fourth overall, second in P1), and fifth (2007). In GT2/GT, the class-winning car came from seventh in 2004 (Kelleners/Lazzaro Ferrari) and 2007 (Bergmeister/van Overbeek Porsche).

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review