Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
Ganassi named honorary Chairman
Chip Ganassi
Chip Ganassi, who is leading his racing teams through one of the most successful motorsports seasons in the history of the sport this year, has agreed to serve as the Honorary Chairman of the 22nd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony, Wednesday, August 25, in downtown Detroit.

Ganassi’s most recent triumph came just this past weekend in the Brickyard 400 where Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Jamie McMurray gave his team owner a sweep of both major auto races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) this year.  The victory made Ganassi the first owner to capture in a single season what is widely now considered auto racing’s modern-day triple-crown – the Daytona 500, Indianapolis 500 and the Brickyard 400.  McMurray also gave Ganassi his first Daytona 500 victory in February while Dario Franchitti won the Indianapolis 500 in May, Target Chip Ganassi Racing's third victory in the Memorial Day Weekend classic.

As Honorary Chairman, Ganassi will preside over the formal black-tie induction ceremony at the Fillmore Theater in the heart of downtown Detroit on the evening of Wednesday, August 25.  This year’s list of motorsports legends and pioneers that will be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America includes NHRA mechanical genius Dale Armstrong, Sprint Car Champion, Indy driver and stunt driver Joie Chitwood, NASCAR Champion Alan Kulwicki, AMA Supercross Champion Jeremy McGrath, the dean of racing broadcasters Ken Squier, Trans-Am Champion Jerry Titus and USAC Sprint and Midget Champion Rich Vogler.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review