Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
BMW to contest 2010 Intercontinental Le Mans Cup
BMW will contest all three legs of the 2010 Intercontinental Le Mans Cup 2010 with the BMW M3 GT2. This Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO)-sanctioned championship consists of Silverstone's 1000-kilometre race in Great Britain, the classic "Petit Le Mans" round in Road Atlanta (US), and the 1000- kilometer season finale in Zhuhai (CN).

In Silverstone and Zhuhai management of the BMW M3 GT2, to be driven by BMW works drivers Jorg Muller (DE) and Dirk Werner (DE), will be in the hands of Schnitzer Motorsport, led by team manager, Charly Lamm (DE). With the 10-hour "Petit Le Mans" counting towards the American Le Mans Series, BMW Rahal Letterman Racing Team, together with drivers Dirk Muller (DE)/Joey Hand (US) and Tommy Milner (US)/Bill Auberlen (US), will represent BMW in the event. The ALMS drivers will be supported by Jorg Muller and Dirk Werner.

"The Intercontinental Le Mans Cup is offering a new approach to set up a worldwide GT category," says BMW Motorsport Director Mario Theissen. "I am convinced the concept will find favor among spectators in 2010 and beyond. In Silverstone and Zhuhai our flag will be flown by BMW Team Schnitzer, while BMW Rahal Letterman Racing Team will represent us in Road Atlanta as part of the ALMS campaign. I am looking forward to three exciting races."

BMW currently is second in the GT category of the American Le Mans Series, while drivers Auberlen/Milner and Dirk Muller/Hand occupy second and third respectively in the drivers' classification. In the European Le Mans Series, BMW Team Schnitzer has to date contested races in Le Castellet (FR) and Spa-Francorchamps (BE), with the best result being fourth in Belgium thanks to the no. 79 BMW M3 GT2. This year's Le Mans 24 Hour race in France saw Jorg Muller, Augusto Farfus (BR) and Uwe Alzen (DE) placed sixth in the LM GT2 category.

For BMW the highlight of the season to date was the Nurburgring 24-hour race: Jorg Muller, Augusto Farfus, Uwe Alzen and Pedro Lamy (PT) celebrated victory, scoring BMW's 19th overall win in the 38th running of this endurance classic. Source: BMW

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review