Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Detroit
This week’s 22nd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony in downtown Detroit will be the biggest induction celebration in the history of the organization with two full days of events at the Detroit Science Center (DSC) and the Fillmore Theater, Tuesday and Wednesday, August 24 – 25.  Visit www.mshf.com or call 248-349-RACE (7223) for information and tickets.  Members of the media are welcome to cover all of the activities.

With Honorary Chairman Chip Ganassi presiding over a formal black-tie induction ceremony at the Fillmore on Wednesday evening that will serve as the culminating event of the two days, the 2010 induction class is an illustrious collection of motorsports legends and pioneers.  The list includes NHRA mechanical genius Dale Armstrong, Sprint Car Champion, Indy driver and stunt driver Joie Chitwood, NASCAR Champion Alan Kulwicki, AMA Supercross Champion Jeremy McGrath, the dean of racing broadcasters Ken Squier, Trans-Am Champion Jerry Titus and USAC Sprint and Midget Champion Rich Vogler.

This year’s annual induction celebration also serves as the formal debut of the new relationship between the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America and the Detroit Science Center, which is the current home to the Hall’s impressive motorsports collection and actual Hall of Fame member displays.  Following a lunch with the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association with Hall members and officials, the first public event will be a 2 p.m. Tuesday autograph session at the DSC.  Hall inductees or members scheduled to sign include Armstrong, McGrath, Bob Bondurant, Tom D’Eath, Elliott Forbes-Robinson, Mel Kenyon and Danny Ongais. This same group of legends will also participate in several “Science of Motorsports” demonstrations throughout Tuesday afternoon at DSC.

Other highlights of the 22nd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony Celebration include:

-  In addition to touching on his spectacular 2010 racing season that has seen his teams and drivers capture the Daytona 500, Indianapolis 500 and the Brickyard 400, Ganassi’s Chairman’s Address on Wednesday evening at the Fillmore will focus on motorsports being at the forefront of cutting-edge technology and the role of science in all facets of modern-day competition.  The Hall’s recently formed alliance with the DSC will bring renewed focus to the technological innovations that are vital to success in motorsports, a topic of strong interest for Ganassi. 

-  Newly appointed Daytona International Speedway (DIS) President Joie Chitwood III and his nine-year-old son Joie Chitwood IV will sign and give away hard back copies of the book “Safe at Any Speed – The Joie Chitwood Story" as long as supplies last in the opening part of the Tuesday autograph session.  At 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday, the Chitwoods will also give a short talk about stunt driving on the DSC's Science Stage.

-  The 2010 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Heroes of Horsepower Inductee Reception will be held Tuesday night at the DSC and tickets are available to the public for the first time.  Hosted by ABC/ESPN lead announcer Marty Reid, the business casual event is highlighted by the unveiling of each inductee’s permanent Hall of Fame sculpture.  Inductees or their accepting family members and friends, as well as a long list of current Hall members that includes Bondurant, D’Eath, Forbes-Robinson, Kenyon, Ongais and Shirley Muldowney, are all scheduled to be in attendance.  A strolling dinner starts a 7:30 p.m. with the program commencing at 8:30 p.m.

-  The 22nd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony Wednesday at the Fillmore will once again be hosted by Jim Mueller, track announcer for Michigan International Speedway and other ISC tracks.  Media interviews and photo opportunities commence at 5:30 p.m. A reception kicks off the evening’s formal program at 5:45 p.m. and will be followed by dinner at 7 p.m. and the Induction Ceremony at 7:45 p.m.

The Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame is operated by the Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.  Currently housed in the Detroit Science Center in the Motor City’s Museum District, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America features more than 30 racing and high performance vehicles.  The constantly changing collection features racing machines from the world of Indy Cars, Stock Cars, Sports Cars, Can-Am, Trans-Am, Sprint Cars, Powerboats, Truck Racing, Drag Racing, Motorcycles, Air Racing and even Snowmobiles. 

Sponsors of the 22nd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony Celebration include Bridgestone Americas, American Honda, Pirelli North America, IndyCar/Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Goodyear, Ford Racing, Hooters, Toyota, Chevy Racing, NHRA, SPEED, NASCAR, AMA, SCCA, Mazda and others.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review