Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Webber tops final practice in Spa
Mark Webber

The rain finally stopped for awhile and in a session run largely in the dry, Red Bull's Mark Webber turned the fastest lap in final practice for Sunday's Belgium GP at Spa.  Webber's lap of 1m46.106s topped Lewis Hamilton's McLaren time of 1m46.223s, who ended up 2nd ahead of Sebastian Vettel's Red Bull, 0.290s down on his teammate,  with Button fourth, Kubica fifth, Alonso sixth, Massa seventh and Sutil in eighth position.

A rain shower slowed the action towards the end of the final 60-minute practice session on Saturday morning, but there was frantic activity inside the Red Bull garage.

With two hours to go before the crucial qualifying hour at Spa-Francorchamps, Sebastian Vettel's RB6 had groaned to a stop in the pitlane, requiring a push from the marshals into the team mechanics' custody.

Team boss Christian Horner immediately said he did not know the reason for the stoppage.

Earlier, it had emerged that German Vettel would tackle the rest of the Belgian grand prix weekend with a used Renault engine, while the other leading contenders had new engines fitted.

Before the late rain fell, Vettel's teammate and world championship leader Mark Webber - who nearly ran into the stricken sister car in the narrow pitlane - had set the fastest lap time.

After dominating on Friday, Ferrari's Fernando Alonso was sixth fastest on Saturday morning; slower than both Red Bulls and McLarens.

"We must be humble because we see this morning that the Red Bulls and McLaren are so strong," Ferrari boss Stefano Domenicali told the BBC.


Pos Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m46.106s +0.000s 10
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m46.223s +0.117s 17
3. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m46.396s +0.290s 12
4. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m46.397s +0.291s 17
5. Robert Kubica Renault 1m46.492s +0.386s 17
6. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m46.627s +0.521s 11
7. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m46.962s +0.856s 10
8. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m47.064s +0.958s 15
9. Nico Hülkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1m47.160s +1.054s 16
10. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m47.296s +1.190s 17
11. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1m47.388s +1.282s 15
12. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m47.406s +1.300s 15
13. R.Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m47.512s +1.406s 14
14. M.Schumacher Mercedes 1m47.695s +1.589s 16
15. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m47.837s +1.731s 9
16. Sébastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m47.905s +1.799s 20
17. J.Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m47.981s +1.875s 18
18. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1m48.692s +2.586s 8
19. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1m50.600s +4.494s 14
20. Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1m51.133s +5.027s 9
21. H.Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1m51.384s +5.278s 14
22. Lucas Di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1m51.517s +5.411s 13
23. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m51.669s +5.563s 10
24. Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 1m52.001s +5.895s 13
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review