Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Monza: Button tops opening practice UPDATE
Jenson Button
McLaren got off to a strong start at Monza on Friday morning, despite testing a rear wing that looked more suited to a high-downforce track.

While many rivals were running more conventional for Monza 'tea-tray'-style wings for the Autodromo's long straights, observers were surprised when the MP4-25 emerged from the pits with a very big rear wing.

After the British team hinted it might not use an F-duct at all this weekend, the wing was indeed used on Friday morning in conjunction with the downforce-shedding innovation.

The implication is that McLaren achieves high straight-line speeds by activating the F-duct on the straights and stalling the wing, while in the corners the car gains a competitive advantage by producing higher-than-normal downforce.

Jenson Button topped the morning timesheets at the Italian circuit, while his teammate Lewis Hamilton was third quickest in the sister car.

09/10/10 McLaren's Jenson Button set the fastest time in opening practice session at Monza in preparation for the Italian Grand Prix. Button's best time was less than a tenth quicker than Sebastian Vettel's Red Bull, with Button's McLaren teammate Lewis Hamilton the only other driver in the 1m23s bracket in third.

Although Friday morning is largely a track cleaning exercise (The 90-minute session was half over before anyone set a competitive time), the Ferrari team did not give the Italian race fans anything to cheer about with Fernando Alonso in 8th and his teammate Felipe Massa 9th.



Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1. Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:23.693 +0.000s 28
2. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:23.790 +0.097s 27
3. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:23.967 +0.274s 25
4. Kubica Renault 1:24.120 +0.427s 25
5. Rosberg Mercedes 1:24.129 +0.436s 30
6. Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:24.446 +0.753s 26
7. Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:24.512 +0.819s 19
8. Alonso Ferrari 1:24.543 +0.850s 24
9. Massa Ferrari 1:24.648 +0.955s 22
10. Schumacher Mercedes 1:24.756 +1.063s 26
11. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:24.841 +1.148s 28
12. di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:24.923 +1.230s 23
13. Petrov Renault 1:25.292 +1.599s 25
14. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:25.318 +1.625s 29
15. de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1:25.320 +1.627s 20
16. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:25.334 +1.641s 24
17. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:25.897 +2.204s 19
18. Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:26.772 +3.079s 19
19. Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:26.898 +3.205s 12
20. di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:26.956 +3.263s 17
21. Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:27.374 +3.681s 14
22. Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:28.256 +4.563s 8
23. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:28.516 +4.823s 4
24. Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 1:29.870 +6.177s 17

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review