Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Briscoe keeps Team Penske on top in Motegi
Ryan Briscoe
Ron McQueeney/IRL
Team Penske's Ryan Briscoe led the 25-car field for the 2nd IndyCar practice in Motegi, Japan with a lap of 200.894 mph (27.2382 seconds). Teammate Helio Castroneves (200.609 mph) was second in both sessions.

All four Andretti Autosport cars cracked the top 10 in the afternoon session, led by Tony Kanaan (200.276) in third. Danica Patrick was fourth (199.904), while Marco Andretti (199.248) was eighth and Ryan Hunter-Reay (199.026) ninth.

IZOD IndyCar Series championship points leader Will Power was sixth (199.663), while Dario Franchitti -- who enters the 200-lap race 17 points off the pace -- was next on the chart (199.494). Power was quickest in the first session. E.J. Viso was fifth quick (199.828) and two-time Indy Japan 300 winner Dan Wheldon was 10th (198.947).

The size of the crowd behind Takuma Sato's pit stand began to swell when the No. 5 Lotus entry emerged from the KV Racing Technology garage, and outgrew decent photo sightlines when the Japanese driver arrived on the scene.

Twenty minutes remained in the second practice session -- at least some consolation for time and effort lost because of a crash after only five laps in the morning practice on the 1.5-mile oval. The cheering section on pit lane and its more sizable brethren in the main grandstand watched Sato get in 21 laps with a best of 196.321 mph (27.8727 seconds).

He drew the 18th spot for two-lap qualifications (2:30 a.m. ET live on indycar.com). An oil line failure spewed oil onto the rear tire of Sato's car, causing it to spin and make contact with the Turn 1 SAFER Barrier. The Holmatro Safety Team laid a chemical substance to soak up oil from the start/finish line all the way to the point of impact.



Driver Team Time Behind
1. Ryan Briscoe Penske 27.2382s +0.0000s
2. Helio Castroneves Penske 27.2769s +0.0387s
3. Tony Kanaan Andretti 27.3223s +0.0841s
4. Danica Patrick Andretti 27.3732s +0.1350s
5. EJ Viso KV 27.3836s +0.1454s
6. Will Power Penske 27.4062s +0.1680s
7. Dario Franchitti Ganassi 27.4294s +0.1912s
8. Marco Andretti Andretti 27.4632s +0.2250s
9. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti 27.4939s +0.2557s
10. Dan Wheldon Panther 27.5048s +0.2666s
11. Scott Dixon Ganassi 27.5468s +0.3086s
12. Vitor Meira Foyt 27.6191s +0.3809s
13. Alex Tagliani FAZZT 27.6310s +0.3928s
14. Bertrand Baguette Conquest 27.6725s +0.4343s
15. Graham Rahal Newman/Haas 27.6789s +0.4407s
16. Hideki Mutoh Newman/Haas 27.7078s +0.4696s
17. Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold 27.7083s +0.4701s
18. Mario Moraes KV 27.7905s +0.5523s
19. Paul Tracy Dreyer & Reinbold 27.7927s +0.5545s
20. Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne 27.8292s +0.5910s
21. Raphael Matos De Ferran Dragon 27.8572s +0.6190s
22. Takuma Sato KV 27.8727s +0.6345s
23. Roger Yasukawa Conquest 27.9404s +0.7022s
24. Milka Duno Dale Coyne 28.3537s +1.1155s
25. Simona de Silvestro HVM 28.4374s +1.1992s

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review