Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Allotment of F1 engines used so far in 2010
Since the start of the 2009 campaign, each driver has been allocated the use of eight engines per season, with the order of the powerplants undetermined. With only the five season-ending ‘flyaway’ races to go, we take a look at the figures.

As compiled by the official F1 website, the digits show that the Sauber of Nick Heidfeld (formerly Pedro de la Rosa’s car) is now on its ninth engine and for that reason took a 10-place grid drop penalty at Spa two races ago.

Ferrari are now on their eighth units although previous engines can be used without incurring a penalty. Four drivers have fired up only six engines so far: World Championship leader Mark Webber, Rubens Barrichello and the Renault pairing.

Engine usage up to and including the Italian Grand Prix:

Mark Webber / Red Bull-Renault 6
Lewis Hamilton / McLaren-Mercedes 7
Fernando Alonso / Ferrari 8
Jenson Button / McLaren-Mercedes 7
Sebastian Vettel / Red Bull-Renault 7
Felipe Massa / Ferrari 8
Nico Rosberg / Mercedes GP 7
Robert Kubica / Renault 6
Michael Schumacher / Mercedes GP 7
Adrian Sutil / Force India-Mercedes 7
Rubens Barrichello / Williams-Cosworth 6
Kamui Kobayashi / Sauber-Ferrari 7
Vitaly Petrov / Renault 6
Nico Hülkenberg / Williams-Cosworth 7
Vitantonio Liuzzi / Force India-Mercedes 7
Sébastien Buemi / Toro Rosso-Ferrari 7
Jaime Alguersuari / Toro Rosso-Ferrari 7
Heikki Kovalainen / Lotus-Cosworth 7
Lucas di Grassi / Virgin-Cosworth 7
Jarno Trulli / Lotus-Cosworth 7
Timo Glock / Virgin-Cosworth 7
Bruno Senna / Hispania-Cosworth 7
Sakon Yamamoto / Hispania-Cosworth 7
Nick Heidfeld / Sauber-Ferrari 9
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review