Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Korean GP: Hamilton tops opening practice
There were no signs of the newly-laid track surface breaking up as the formula one cars christened the Yeongam venue on Friday morning.

But the circuit was as slippery as most paddock observers have ever seen, with drivers' tires white with dust in the pitlane, and reporters coughing amid the haze.

Eyebrows were also raised when at least two snakes were photographed slithering across the layout on Thursday, and Sebastian Vettel expressed concern after finding a huge rusty nail as the walked the circuit.

"If you drive over that, you have a puncture," the Red Bull driver told Bild newspaper.

Lewis Hamilton was quickest for McLaren at the end of the first ever Formula 1 practice session at the Korean International Circuit Friday morning.

Hamilton's time was 1m40.887s, ahead of Kubica in second and Nico Rosberg third. Sebastian Vettel was fourth for Red Bull followed by Jenson Button and Michael Schumacher.



Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m40.887s +0.000S 15
2. Robert Kubica Renault 1m40.968s +0.081s 18
3. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m41.152s +0.265s 21
4. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m41.371s +0.484s 18
5. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m41.940s +1.053s 16
6. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m42.022s +1.135s 25
7. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m42.202s +1.315s 23
8. Nick Heidfeld Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.293s +1.406s 18
9. Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1m42.678s +1.791s 21
10. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m42.883s +1.996s 23
11. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m42.896s +2.009s 22
12. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m43.054s +2.167s 25
13. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m43.309s +2.422s 20
14. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m43.602s +2.715s 18
15. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m43.928s +3.041s 21
16. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m43.940s +3.053s 23
17. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1m44.887s +4.000s 21
18. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m45.141s +4.254s 26
19. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m45.588s +4.701s 20
20. Jerome D'Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m46.613s +5.726s 17
21. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1m47.115s +6.228s 22
22. Sakon Yamamoto Hispania-Cosworth 1m50.347s +9.460s 29
23. Bruno Senna Hispania-Cosworth 1m50.821s +9.934s 15
24. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1m51.701s +10.814s 11

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review