Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Race of Champions renews partnership with TAG Heuer
TAG Heuer’s President and CEO Jean-Christophe Babin said: “Motor racing is the perfect showcase of precision and performance. As such it reflects TAG Heuer values in a unique way. So what could be a better fit for TAG Heuer than partnering with such a prestigious international event as The Race of Champions, which brings together friends of the brand and the world’s finest drivers from all the disciplines of racing. With identical cars on the track, it is talent and determination that will make the difference.

“For a century and half TAG Heuer has drawn inspiration from the world of sports to master time to its smallest fraction. That resulted in the longest and strongest association with motor sports and dream cars.

Racing legends like Jo Siffert, Juan-Manuel Fangio, Jacky Ickx, Clay Regazzoni, Niki Lauda, Gilles Villeneuve, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, Mika Häkkinen, Jacques Villeneuve, David Coulthard, Kimi Räikkönen, Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button have been on TAG Heuer’s stupendous roster of F1 racing ambassadors.

“Today the brand has partnerships with McLaren in F1 and GT Cars, Mercedes SLR and SLS, Audi Sport for GT and Le Mans 24 Hours, Tesla Motors for Electric GT Cars, as well as with reigning F1 world champion Jenson Button, his teammate Lewis Hamilton and young F1 talents Indian Karun Chandhok and Chinese Ho Pin Tung.

”To be chosen as the official timekeeper is not only an honor for TAG Heuer but also the sort of technical and human challenge which our brand has taken on with passion for more than 150 years, and which has helped forge its reputation.”

In December 2006 at the ROC in Paris, TAG Heuer set a still unbeaten world record when it measured an astonishing 2/10,000ths of a second difference between winner Mattias Ekström and second-placed Heikki Kovalainen. When it comes to timekeeping and precision, no other watch brand can beat TAG Heuer.

The ROC 2010 driver roll call includes the greatest champions of all time from Formula 1, World Rally, Le Mans and World Touring Cars, plus many other legends on two wheels and four.

Race of Champions co-founder and IMP president Fredrik Johnsson said: “We’re delighted to renew our partnership with TAG Heuer – a company that shares our passion for the best of motor sport. We see plenty of tight finishes and thanks to TAG Heuer’s ultimate technology and timing crew, we are able to determine winners down to as little as one ten-thousandth of a second.”

Tickets are now available from www.raceofchampions.com with prices starting at 29 Euros. Sign up for all the latest updates at www.raceofchampions.com, @raceofchampions on Twitter, or Race Of Champions on Facebook.

Drivers already confirmed for the 2010 Race of Champions:
Michael SCHUMACHER, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
Alain PROST, four-time Formula 1 World Champion
Sébastien LOEB, seven-time World Rally Champion
Mick DOOHAN, five-time World 500cc Motorcycling Champion
Sebastian VETTEL, 2010 Formula 1 title contender
Tom KRISTENSEN, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
Heikki KOVALAINEN, Formula 1 grand prix winner
Andy PRIAULX, three-time World Touring Car Champion
Alvaro PARENTE, GP2 race winner and Winner ROC South Europe 2010
Filipe ALBUQUERQUE, A1GP race winner and Winner ROC South Europe 2010
Travis PASTRANA, 11-time X-Games gold medalist
Carl EDWARDS, 2007 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review