Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Turvey powers to pole in Abu Dhabi
Oliver Turvey went one better from his fine performance in today's practice by claiming pole position for the feature race in a dramatic qualifying session in Abu Dhabi ahead of Dani Clos and Sergio Perez. The Briton spent the whole session at the sharp end of the timing sheets, but a late lap of 1:48.559 couldn't be bettered by his rivals, handing Turvey his first GP2 Series pole position by almost half a second.

With temperatures soaring this afternoon following a quiet practice session and a sudden downpour of rain just afterwards, the drivers were immediately on the pace: Perez, Turvey and Jules Bianchi were fighting fiercely for the top spot from their first flying laps, alternating the quickest times between them as they circulated. Ten minutes in and Turvey was on top (by just 0.009s), at fifteen Bianchi led the way, and with temperatures starting to slide it was difficult to know what to expect from the second set of tires.

Luiz Razia answered that question by being the first man on track and promptly putting himself in P2, and when his rivals returned to the circuit warfare recommenced. With a few minutes remaining Perez went top, with Clos squeezing by a few seconds later, but Turvey laid down his marker and gave his rivals just three minutes to improve upon it: no one could get close, and it was all over as the checkered flag dropped.

Behind the top three Fabio Leimer did a fantastic job to claim fourth on tomorrow's grid, ahead of Davide Valsecchi, Bianchi, Razia, Giedo van der Garde, Romain Grosjean and Sam Bird, all of whom were within a second of pole: tomorrow's race promises to be as scorching as the weather conditions.



Driver Team Time Behind
1. Oliver Turvey iSport 1m48.559s +0.000s
2. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1m49.035s +0.476s
3. Sergio Perez Barwa Addax 1m49.081s +0.522s
4. Fabio Leimer Ocean 1m49.148s +0.589s
5. Davide Valsecchi iSport 1m49.307s +0.748s
6. Jules Bianchi ART 1m49.338s +0.779s
7. Luiz Razia Rapax 1m49.410s +0.851s
8. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax 1m49.429s +0.870s
9. Romain Grosjean DAMS 1m49.462s +0.903s
10. Sam Bird ART 1m49.624s +1.065s
11. Adrian Zaugg Trident 1m49.812s +1.253s
12. Max Chilton Ocean 1m49.890s +1.331s
13. Michael Herck DPR 1m50.160s +1.601s
14. Fabio Crestani DPR 1m50.239s +1.680s
15. Pastor Maldonado Rapax 1m50.362s +1.803s
16. Rodolfo Gonzalez Arden 1m50.549s +1.990s
17. Josef Kral Super Nova 1m50.559s +2.000s
18. Brendon Hartley Coloni 1m50.568s +2.009s
19. Charles Pic Arden 1m50.569s +2.010s
20. Marcus Ericsson Super Nova 1m50.719s +2.160s
21. Jerome D'Ambrosio DAMS 1m50.730s +2.171s
22. James Jakes Coloni 1m50.901s +2.342s
23. Ho-Pin Tung Racing Engineering 1m51.061s +2.502s
24. Federico Leo Trident 1m52.170s +3.611s

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review