Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
Gurney, Moss Join SPEED Performer of the Year Panel
Motor sports icons Dan Gurney and Sir Stirling Moss have agreed to become voting members of the SPEED Performer of the Year panel, joining Mario Andretti in helping select the annual recipient of the Mario Andretti Trophy as the top racer of the year.

“If this award was in place when these gentlemen were driving, they would have been locks to win the trophy,” said Andretti, who personally asked both men to join the panel. “They are both great examples of what this award represents and I am honored to have their support moving forward.”

“The names Andretti, Gurney and Moss are synonymous with greatness in racing,” said SPEED President Hunter Nickell. “And more importantly that that, all three carry themselves with the class of a champion … we are truly honored to have them associated with the SPEED Performer of the Year program.”

Gurney, 79, a driver, team owner and manufacturer, who has raced nearly everything from Bonneville to Monaco, was the first driver to win races in Formula One (1962), NASCAR (1963) and IndyCar (1968) and was inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1990. He remains the only U.S. citizen to win a Grand Prix in a car of his own construction in the history of Formula One.

Moss, 81, won 16 Formula One races and piloted more than 80 different types of cars across all classes of motor sport in his storied career. In 2000, Moss was made Knight Bachelor for services to Motor Racing, knighted by Prince Charles 10 years after being elected into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame.

The SPEED Performer of the Year is the top honor presented as part of the annual SPEED Performance Awards, which debuted in 2006. Voting is done in November and the Andretti Trophy, a 100-pound bronze sculpture created by artist Elie Hazak, is presented as part of a one-hour television special in February. Past winners of the award include five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson (2006, 2007, 2008) and NHRA Top Fuel pilot Tony Schumacher (2009).

Other members of the SPEED voting panel include Dave Despain, Bob Varsha, Tommy Kendall, Dorsey Schroeder, Robin Miller, Ralph Sheheen Tom Jensen and a team of SPEED motor sports producers.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review