Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
USAC Returns to Action Packed IndyCar Event at Milwaukee Mile in 2011
USAC racing returns to the Milwaukee Mile on Father's Day 2011. The Silver Crown Championship and Mopar National Midget Series will cap Saturday race and IndyCar qualifying action on the IZOD IndyCar Series weekend, June 18-19, 2011. The IZOD IndyCars race on Sunday, June 19, 2011. 

The USAC Mopar Quarter Midgets will also compete on a temporary track that will be constructed in the Fan Interactive Zone west of the grandstand. The event will be part of USAC’s 2011 “Generation Next” National Championship Tour, featuring drivers from 5 to17 years of age. Drivers from across America are expected to compete in the Quarter Midget events, which will be streamed live on usacracing.com.

Chris McGrath, CEO of event promoter AB Promotions: “With seven series of racing over two days, the Father's Day event at Milwaukee features more racing than any other event on the IZOD IndyCar schedule, and Milwaukee is the only place that fans can see every single series on the Road to Indy. We are excited to have the stars of today and tomorrow at our event.”

“The Milwaukee Mile has been the site of historic USAC racing since the inception of USAC in 1956,” says USAC President/CEO Kevin Miller. “Our participants have always enjoyed competing at this marquee facility, and we are more than delighted to be able to return there after a five-year hiatus. We anticipate some of the most intense competition of the year in what certainly will be memorable races for Midwestern race fans.”

The last appearance of the USAC Silver Crown and Midget series at Milwaukee was in 2006 when Bobby Santos III (Midget) and Wayne Reutimann (Silver Crown) sped to victory. Santos holds the existing track qualifying record for Midgets, set in 2006 at 128.576 mph. Dave Steele posted the 1-lap Silver Crown qualifying record of 129.459 mph during qualifying in 2005. A total of 177 USAC races have been held at the legendary Milwaukee Mile. Pat Flaherty won the 100-mile IndyCar win in June of 1956.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review