Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Flying Lizard Sets Driver Lineup for Rolex 24
Flying Lizard Motorsports announced today the driver lineup for the Rolex 24 At Daytona. Joerg Bergmeister (Germany), Patrick Long (USA), Seth Neiman (USA), and Johannes van Overbeek (USA) will pilot the Flying Lizard No. 45 Porsche-powered Riley Daytona Prototype for the 24-hour race on January 29-30, 2011 in Daytona Beach, Florida. The Flying Lizard No. 45 DP is powered by a Porsche Motorsport-prepared, 911-based flat-6 engine. The chassis, previously run by Brumos Racing, won the race overall in 2009.

The four drivers also teamed up for the 2010 Rolex 24, finishing second in GT in the No. 67 Flying Lizard/TRG Porsche GT3 Cup car. Bergmeister and Long are Porsche factory drivers. Bergmeister has won three times at the Rolex 24: in GT in 2009 (with Patrick Long), in GT and overall in 2003, and in GT in 2002, all with TRG. He was also the Grand-Am DP champion in 2006 (with Krohn Racing). Bergmeister and Long have driven together in the Flying Lizard No. 45 Porsche 911 GT3 RSR in the ALMS for the last two seasons. Bergmeister is five-time ALMS GT drivers’ champion (2005-2006 and 2008-2010); three of those titles were driving with Flying Lizard (2008 through 2010). Bergmeister is the only driver in Grand-Am and ALMS history to win the championship in both series in the same year (2006). Long has won the ALMS GT drivers’ title three times, all with Bergmeister: 2005, and 2009-2010.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review