Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Past rookies added to Bud Shootout UPDATE A reader writes, Dear AR1.com, I once used the bathroom and bought a hot dog at Daytona in the same day so I must be eligible for the Bud Shootout. Past rookies of the year now  get in,  what's next calling out seat numbers. How long before a 5 ft chick with huge sunglasses and marginal (at best ) talent is awarded a spot. I can already here Larry Mac butchering the English language while telling us this is the deepest field ever. I'm already sick of Nascar and it hasn't even started! Ron Thompson

01/07/11 With a strong lineup that features former Sprint Cup Series champions, last year's Chase field, a host of former outstanding rookies, along with a collection of previous winners at the sport's most storied race track, NASCAR announced the list of eligible competitors for the 2011 Budweiser Shootout at Daytona. The 33rd annual season-opening event launches Speedweeks at Daytona International Speedway with the green flag set for 8:10 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 12. FOX and MRN will broadcast live nationally. It marks the first Cup event held on the track's newly repaved surface. The field is set by the following qualifications, with eligibility based on a driver having competed in Cup within the past two seasons:

* The 12 drivers who qualified for the 2010 Chase
* Past Cup champions
* Past Budweiser Shootout champions
* Past Daytona points race winners
* Cup rookie of the year drivers from 2001-10

The race distance will again be 75 laps (187.5 miles), consisting of two segments -- 25 and 50 laps. Both green-flag laps and yellow-flag laps will count. Between segments there will be a 10-minute pit stop allowing teams to pit to change tires, add fuel and make normal chassis adjustments. Crews will be permitted to work on cars and will be allowed to perform functions they would do on a normal pit stop in a regular Cup event. All work must be performed on pit road or in the garage. Changing of springs, shock absorbers or rear ends will not be permitted. Starting positions will again be determined by a blind draw at the annual Budweiser Shootout Draw Party at 8 p.m. ET on Friday, Feb. 11 on the SPEED stage in the Midway, outside Turn 4. NASCAR

2011 Budweiser Shootout eligible drivers:

Jimmie Johnson (2010 Chase contender)
Denny Hamlin (2010 Chase contender)
Kevin Harvick (2010 Chase contender)
Carl Edwards (2010 Chase contender)
Matt Kenseth (2010 Chase contender)
Greg Biffle (2010 Chase contender)
Tony Stewart (2010 Chase contender)
Kyle Busch (2010 Chase contender)
Jeff Gordon (2010 Chase contender)
Clint Bowyer (2010 Chase contender)
Kurt Busch (2010 Chase contender)
Jeff Burton (2010 Chase contender)
John Andretti (Coke Zero 400 winner)
Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout winner)
Kevin Conway (Series rookie of the year)
Derrike Cope (Daytona 500 winner)
Dale Earnhardt Jr (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout winner)
Bill Elliott (Former series champion, Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout winner)
Kasey Kahne (Former series rookie of the year)
Bobby Labonte (Former series champion)
Terry Labonte (Former series champion, Budweiser Shootout winner)
Joey Logano (Former series rookie of the year)
Sterling Marlin (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400 winner)
Mark Martin (Budweiser Shootout winner)
Jamie McMurray (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400 winner, series rookie of the year)
Juan Pablo Montoya (Former series rookie of the year)
Ryan Newman (Daytona 500 winner, Series rookie of the year)
Ken Schrader (Budweiser Shootout winner)
Regan Smith (Former series rookie of the year)
Michael Waltrip (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400 winner)

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review