Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Jerez Day 1: Massa finishes on top
Felipe Massa finished the opening day of testing at Jerez on the top of the pile, after his best time of 1:20.709 remained unbeaten in the afternoon session.

The teams were met by clear blue skies for the second pre-season test of the year and even enjoyed track temperatures upwards of 28C as the morning chill eased. Massa, who was focusing on the Ferrari's aerodynamic performance and its effect on the Pirelli tires, had a relatively trouble-free day and notched up just over 100 laps in total.

Sauber rookie Sergio Perez got closest to the Ferrari's benchmark time with a 1:21.483, but, as always with testing, the times should not be seen as a true indicator of performance. However, one car that continues to look impressive is the Red Bull RB7 and Mark Webber completed 94 laps at the wheel with the third fastest time. After a morning in the Toro Rosso STR6, reserve driver Daniel Ricciardo set the fourth fastest time which race driver Jaime Alguersuari was not able to match in the afternoon.

Three new cars hit the track for the first time, with the McLaren MP4-26, the Force India VJM-04 and the Virgin MVR-02 all emerging from the garages in the morning. Lewis Hamilton was at the wheel of the McLaren and notched up a healthy 58 laps as well as the fifth fastest time. The MP4-26 was the centre of attention as spies from other teams tried to clarify if McLaren was running a forward-exiting exhaust similar to Renault's. The car was definitely running a different layout to the one it had at its launch, but the mechanics did a good job at hiding its secrets from the prying lenses of photographers.


Pos Driver Car Time Laps
1. Felipe Massa Ferrari F150 1:20.709 101
2. Sergio Perez Sauber C30 1:21.483 94
3. Mark Webber Red Bull RB7 1:21.522 94
4. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso STR6 1:21.755 31
5. Lewis Hamilton McLaren MP4-26 1:21.914 58
6. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso STR6 1:22.689 42
7. Adrian Sutil Force India VJM-04 1:23.472 28
8. Vitaly Petrov Renault R31 1:23.504 57
9. Nico Rosberg Mercedes W02 1:23.963 67
10. Jarno Trulli Lotus T128 1:24.458 54
11. Timo Glock Virgin MVR-02 1:25.086 42
12. Pastor Maldonado Williams FW33 1:34.968 13

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review