Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Franchitti honored by Motor Sport Magazine
Reigning IZOD IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500 champion Dario Franchitti joined Sir Jack Brabham, Sir Frank Williams and Jody Scheckter in being the second class of inductees into the Motor Sport Magazine Hall of Fame during ceremonies Feb. 15 in London.

Franchitti, of Scotland, is a three-time IZOD IndyCar Series title-holder, including winning the past two, with Andretti Green Racing and Target Chip Ganassi Racing. He recorded three victories in 2010, tying Rodger Ward for 11th on the all-time Indy car victory list with 26 (16 in INDYCAR, 10 in CART). Johnny Rutherford (27 wins) is next on the list.

Franchitti won the first of his two Indy 500s in 2007 on the way to winning his first series title. In December, Franchitti was named British Competition Driver of the Year by Autosport.

Accepting the award on behalf of Sir Jack Brabham was his son David Brabham, with Sir Stirling Moss delivering the introduction. Brabham won Formula One World Championships in 1959, 1960 and '66. He is only man to ever win the F1 drivers' title in one of his own cars.

F1 commentator Murray Walker announced Sir Frank Williams, founder of the Williams F1 team, as an inductee, while TAG Heuer CEO Jean-Christophe Babin and five-time Grand Prix winner John Watson introduced Scheckter, the 1979 F1 World Champion. He's the father of IZOD IndyCar Series driver Tomas Scheckter.

In 2010, Mario Andretti, Tony Brooks, Jacky Ickx and Ron Dennis were inducted, along with founding members Enzo Ferrari, Tazio Nuvolari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Jim Clark, Sir Jackie Stewart, Sir Stirling Moss, Ayrton Senna and Michael Schumacher.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review