Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
American Alexander Rossi wins opening WSR race
Alexander Rossi
American F1 hopeful Alexander Rossi won the opening Formula Renault 3.5 race of the season at Motorland Aragon. The Fortec driver fought a race long battle for the lead with Daniil Move, after polesitter Robert Wickens Carlin locked up his left-front wheel and ran wide into Turn 1 at the start.

In the end Rossi won going away from Wickens who recovered to pass Daniil Move for 2nd place but had nothing for Rossi who appears on track to be the next American in F1.

Move, from Russia and in his 5th year of the series, took first place at the start and was bidding to register his first victory in the series. He blocked Rossi's repeated attempts at an inside move into Motorland's Turn 1 and Turn 16 hairpins on repeated occasions.

Rossi upped the pressure on lap 10, but an attempt to pass Move around the outside of Turn 1 resulted in a spectacular sideways moment on the exit of the corner once he hit the marbles. Two laps later, Rossi beat Move in the race for the inside line onto the pit straight and grabbed the lead in dramatic fashion.

The American elected to squeeze between Move's P1 Motorsport car and the pit wall, forcing several teams to yank back their pit-boards or risk having them or their hand broken.

"Well, I was really hoping they would move the pit boards," said Rossi. "It was a bit dicey for a second, but Daniil hadn't made any mistakes up until then so I had to force the issue. Once I was alongside, I thought Daniil was very clean."

"I made a stupid mistake at the start," said Wickens. "I had already made a good launch away from the line, but I just misjudged my braking. I expected there to be more grip, I guess."

Once up into second, Wickens was unable to make inroads into a 4.5-second deficit to Rossi, and would concede an 8.5s margin of victory at the checkered flag.

Results - 25 laps:


Driver Team Behind
1. Alexander Rossi Fortec +0.000s
2. Robert Wickens Carlin +8.521s
3. Nelson Panciatici KMP +9.647s
4. Albert Costa EPIC +15.130s
5. Daniil Move P1 +26.564s
6. Jean-Eric Vergne Carlin +27.052s
7. Walter Grubmuller P1 +27.536s
8. Chris van der Drift Mofaz +27.869s
9. Daniel Zampieri Target +28.754s
10. Sten Pentus EPIC +30.042s
11. Oliver Webb Pons +34.402s
12. Nathanael Berthon ISR +36.211s
13. Jake Rosenzweig Mofaz +36.598s
14. Andre Negrao Draco +37.040s
15. Lewis Williamson ISR +38.300s
16. Stephane Richelmi Draco +39.081s
17. Jan Charouz Gravity-Charouz +40.126s
18. Daniel McKenzie Comtec +40.321s
19. Daniel de Jong Comtec +45.265s
20. Dominic Storey Pons +45.883s
21. Brendon Hartley Gravity-Charouz +48.426s
22. Sergio Canamasas Target +52.307s
23. Cesar Ramos Fortec +1m05.278s
24. Kevin Korjus Tech 1 15 laps
25. Arthur Pic Tech 1 0 laps
26. Anton Nebylitskiy KMP 0 laps

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review