Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Grosjean leads the way in Monaco
Romain Grosjean on the streets of beautiful Monaco
Romain Grosjean got his weekend under way in fine style by claiming the fastest lap in this morning's free practice session in Monaco, leading for almost the entire session from Dani Clos and local hero Stefano Coletti.

The Frenchman improved his times throughout free practice before setting a best lap of 1:22.368, more than a second faster than his closest rivals in a session which saw a number of yellow flags, and one red flag, in the busy 30 minute period.

Luca Filippi led his rivals out on track when the lights went green, taking advantage of the clear track to set the early pace, but Grosjean claimed the top spot on the timing sheets next time round and stayed there until the end.

The red flag was shown for an accident between Charles Pic and Luiz Razia, with the Addax driver slow through the swimming pool and the AirAsia man less so, losing a piece of his front wing in the process and giving the marshals a souvenir to collect.

With time running down, the field was desperate to improve, but a few of them pushed too hard: Fabio Leimer spun at the Mirabeau and Filippi spun at Casino Square, with both men doing a remarkable job to stay off the walls, while Davide Valsecchi clipped the wall at Anthony Noghes and lost his rear wing in the process, just as the checkered flag was shown.

Behind the top three were Filippi, Valsecchi, Jules Bianchi, Johnny Cecotto and Esteban Gutierrez: with a few hours to go the relative peace of the free practice is likely to be shattered in what promises to be an intense qualifying session this afternoon.

Monaco – Free Practice

Pos Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Romain Grosjean Dams 1:22.368 16
2. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1:23.509 12
3. Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 1:23.547 16
4. Luca Filippi 1Super Nova Racing 1:23.643 13
5. Davide Valsecchi Team AirAsia 1:23.681 16
6. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 1:23.707 17
7. Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 1:23.804 17
8. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 1:23.931 16
9. Max Chilton Carlin 1:23.985 17
10. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 1:24.040 14
11. Josef Kral Arden International 1:24.447 16
12. Fabio Leimer Rapax 1:24.491 17
13. Sam Bird iSport International 1:24.566 18
14. Luiz Razia Team AirAsia 1:24.817 18
15. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 1:24.976 16
16. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:25.019 16
17. Alvaro Parente Racing Engineering 1:25.092 13
18. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 1:25.316 17
19 Oliver Turvey Carlin 1:25.500 15
20. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 1:25.782 17
21. Julian Leal Rapax 1:26.141 16
22. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 1:26.924 18
23. Jolyon Palmer Arden International 1:26.990 11
24. Pal Varhaug Dams 1:27.888 17
25. Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 1:28.242 18
26. Kevin Ceccon Scuderia Coloni 1:29.125 16
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review