Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Grosjean leads the way in free practice
Romain Grosjean has picked up where he left off in Silverstone by claiming the top spot in free practice this morning at the Nurburgring, leading all through the session to finish 0.7 ahead of Dani Clos and Jules Bianchi.

The Frenchman's best laptime of 1:40.484 was set just ten minutes into the session, improving on his own times to garrison the top of the timesheets throughout, and handing his rivals an unanswerable challenge in the time remaining.

The session opened under overcast and cold conditions, but at least the rain held off as the 26 cars headed out on track: Grosjean was the first man to set a competitive time, with Esteban Gutierrez, Clos and Christian Vietoris pushing hard to catch up until Grosjean set his best lap, putting over a second on everyone else in the field.

Title rival Giedo van der Garde was unable to do anything about the Frenchman after suffering from a mechanical gremlin: the Dutchman limped back to the pits but his session was clearly over as most of the grid came in behind him for fresh rubber. One man who didn't return, though, was Davide Valsecchi, who was trying to take advantage of the clear track but ran wide at the final turn and found the wall.

With many of the drivers looking to finalize race set ups there was no improvement on lap times in the second half of the session, other than Clos grabbing P2 with a minute remaining: Luca Filippi and Charles Pic were just behind the top three, with Gutierrez, Fabio Leimer, Jolyon Palmer, Stefano Coletti and Alvaro Parente rounding out the top ten.

But with most of the field keeping their powder dry in the session, this afternoon's qualifying session should give a much clearer indication of their pace at the fabled circuit.

Nürburgring – Free Practice

Pos Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Romain Grosjean Dams 1:40.484 14
2. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1:41.222 13
3. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 1:41.326 13
4. Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 1:41.330 13
5. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 1:41.411 12
6. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 1:41.426 13
7. Fabio Leimer Rapax 1:41.616 14
8. Jolyon Palmer Arden International 1:41.716 13
9. Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 1:41.748 12
10. Alvaro Parente Carlin 1:41.834 13
11. Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 1:41.863 13
12. Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 1:41.936 14
13. Sam Bird iSport International 1:41.971 11
14. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 1:42.049 6
15. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 1:42.077 14
16. Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 1:42.213 12
17. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 1:42.248 13
18. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:42.250 11
19 Josef Kral Arden International 1:42.312 12
20. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 1:42.335 13
21. Max Chilton Carlin 1:42.380 9
22. Adam Carroll Super Nova Racing 1:42.471 13
23. Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia 1:42.641 8
24. Pal Varhaug Dams 1:42.673 13
25. Julian Leal Rapax 1:42.927 14
26. Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 1:42.032 14
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review