Power fined $30K for giving Barnhart the finger Izod IndyCar Series officials on Thursday announced that they fined Team Penske driver Will Power $30,000 for flashing two middle fingers toward race control after the Aug. 14 race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Power learned of his fine earlier this week.
Power made the gesture after crashing out of the New Hampshire race. He was angry that the officiating team restarted the race as rain fell on the track.
When Danica Patrick spun immediately after the restart, the ensuing carnage collected Power and others. Power thought the crash would cost him five or six positions in the final results--a potentially critical loss of points as he tries to catch Dario Franchitti in the championship chase. However, chief steward Brian Barnhart deemed the restart a mistake and set the finishing order based on drivers' positions prior to the aborted restart. That decision gave Power fifth place.
The situation--in addition to Power's double-barreled salute caught by national television--drove the Newman/Haas and Ganassi teams to protest the results. A Tuesday hearing in Indianapolis led to confirmation by an IndyCar-appointed panel that Barnhart, as the chief steward, has the authority to decide situations not covered by the rule book. AutoWeek
Copyright 1999-2017 | AutoRacing1 is an
independent internet online publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed
by IndyCar, NASCAR, FIA, Sprint, or any other series sponsor.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without