Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
McLaren prepares for 700th start
This weekend’s 2011 Korean Grand Prix marks the 700th Formula 1 race for McLaren, which celebrated its 174th victory at Suzuka courtesy of Jenson Button.

Established by Bruce McLaren, the New Zealander took the team to its first race win at the 1968 Belgian Grand Prix, with Emerson Fittipaldi clinching the first Drivers’ Championship for the now Woking-based outfit in 1974.

The team has housed a number of World Champion drivers and famed Team Principals Teddy Mayer and Ron Dennis before current head Martin Whitmarsh took the reins in 2009.

McLaren sits third for Constructors’ Championship wins on eight, behind only Ferrari and Williams and having last triumphed in 1998.

McLaren Formula 1 statistics at a glance:

699 race starts
174 Grand Prix wins
146 pole positions
148 fastest laps
465 podium finishes
318 front row starts
350,056 kilometers raced
48,113 kilometers in the lead
10,153 laps in the lead
4,223.5 Constructors’ points

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review